Thursday, June 30, 2011

Review - Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion


Title: Warm Bodies
Author: Isaac Marion
Publisher:Atria
Release date:  April 26, 2011
Pages: 241
Genre: Adult
Source: Library
Buy the book: Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Summary via Goodreads:
A zombie who yearns for a better life ends up falling in love—with a human—in this astonishingly original debut novel.

R is a zombie. He has no memories, no identity, and no pulse, but he has dreams. He doesn’t enjoy killing people; he enjoys riding escalators and listening to Frank Sinatra. He is a little different from his fellow Dead.

Not just another zombie novel, Warm Bodies is funny, scary, and deeply moving.
  


Missy's take -

This has to be one of the first books that I have read in a while that has just left me feeling sort of neutral. I didn't hate it, but I didn't think it was particularly great either. They story had a very interesting premise. A zombie that actually has thoughts and feelings, but it just felt like something was missing to me. It didn't have that "thing" that normally sucks me into a story.

I will say that I went into this one expecting a lot. I try and never do that, but I have read a couple of zombie books lately that I absolutely loved. It just didn't seem to captivate me the way that the other books did. A lot of the time I find it very hard to put a book down, but with this one it wasn't much of a struggle. I don't say this to make it sound like I didn't like it at all, because I did enjoy reading it. I guess that it wasn't that kind of book that sticks with me and makes me yearn for more.

I really did like character of R. A zombie that actually starts to have feelings and emotion. He doesn't remember who he was, but knows only what he has become. He has no idea how long he has been a zombie or how he died. After saving the girlfriend of a guy that he ate he begins to develop feelings for her and she for him. He has memories of her from the past from eating the brains of her boyfriend. All he really cares about his protecting her from other zombies. 

Like I said it was an interesting story with an equally interesting premise, but it just didn't grab me the way a lot of books have lately. I know that I have seen a ton of reviews where people loved it though.


Missy's rating - 
 

Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday (22)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. It lets us spotlight what upcoming books we can't wait for!
 
This week I am waiting on - 
 
  Pure (Covenant #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Spencer Hill Press
Release Date: April 2, 2012
 
Summary via Goodreads: 
Alex lives--and loves--recklessly, until a single decision leads to a heartbreaking revelation. As a mysterious threat closes in and she confronts a Council that wants to see her in servitude, Alex must face a choice between love that is fated... and love that is forbidden.
 
I understand that Half-Blood hasn't been released yet (it will be on September 15th), but I was lucky enough to read it and can't wait for this one! Seriously! Anyone that has read it would totally understand what I am talking about. It is probably going to kill me having to wait all the way til next April for this, but I am sure it will be well worth the wait. 

What are you waiting on???
 
 

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Tune In Tuesday (20)




This meme is hosted by Ginger at GReads & showcases music. Each week you can post an old or new song so that it gains more interest! So head on over and link up.





This week I am going for a country song that I am currently loving. My niece loves this song and is always either singing it or playing it so it's in my head all the time!

The Band Perry - If I Die Young

Sunday, June 26, 2011

In My Mailbox (22)

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren that allows to showcase the books that we have received/purchased over the past week.
Library - 
 The Scarlet Letterman by Cara Lockwood 
When You Dare by Lori Foster (review HERE)


Won-
 
Nevermore by Kelly Creagh
The A Circuit by Georgina Bloomberg & Catherine Hapka



If you have any interest in adult romance then I suggest you check out the Lori Foster series! It is so good! I am on the second book, Trace of Fever, and loving it. I was also really excited to win Nevermore. I have been wanting it for a very long time, but never got around to buying it. SO excited! 

What did you get this week???

Saturday, June 25, 2011

Review - When You Dare by Lori Foster


Title: When You Dare (Men Who Walk on the Edge of Honor #1)
Author: Lori Foster
Publisher: Harlequin
Release date: April 26, 2011
Pages: 448
Genre: Adult Romance
Source: Library
Buy the book: Amazon  /  Barnes & Noble

Summary via Goodreads:
The tougher they are, the harder they fall…
 

Professional mercenary Dare Macintosh lives by one hard and fast rule: business should never be personal. If a cause appeals to him and the price is right, he'll take the mission he's offered. But then the lovely Molly Alexander asks him to help her track down the men who'd had her kidnapped—and for the first time, Dare's tempted to combine work with pleasure.

Fiercely independent, Molly vows to trust no one until she's uncovered the truth. Could the enemy be her powerful, estranged father? The ex-fiancé who still holds a grudge? Or the not-so-shy fan of her bestselling novels? As the danger heats up around them, the only anchor Molly has is Dare himself. But what she feels for him just might be the most frightening thing of all…
 



Missy's take - 

Before my love of YA took over, I was obsessed with romance books. All kinds of them. Mystery romance, historical romance, contemporary, you name it and I loved it! Although I have been reading a ton of awesome YA books lately, I decided that it was time for me to throw in an adult book. It wasn't hard to decide which one because A. I love Lori Foster's books, B. This is a new series and C. Look at that cover! Holy swoon!

Dare Macintosh is a mercenary and out to help a friend. When his friend Trace's little sister gets kidnapped and is about to be sold in Tijuana, Dare is there to rescue her. He also finds that she is not the only one. After several of the girls get away he is left with Molly Alexander and this turns into a not so simple job after all.

I so loved this book. Not only because it was a romance, because I would have loved it for that alone, but there was action and mystery. Besides the romance we are brought into the mystery of finding out who had Molly kidnapped and why. There are still people out to get her and Dare will do whatever he can to make sure that she is safe. All the while, of course, completely falling for her and she with him.

There were some way HOT scences in this book! Like literally take my breath away hotness! Foster can tell such an amazing story and have the perfect amount of swoonworthy romance. It wasn't hard to fall in love with Dare just a few pages in. He's not only a big, tough mercenary, but he is also sweet and gentle when the time calls for it.

I always enjoy how the characters from one of Fosters books flow into the next. The follow up to When You Dare is Trace of Fever, which features Trace from this book. Along with getting to learn more about a supporting character from When You Dare, we still get little tidbits of the current characters lives.

Overall this book was insanely good! It makes me miss all those romances that I had been reading prior to my obsession with YA! This book kept me up late into the night. I seriously ate it right up and I could not put it down! It was that good. If you are looking for an excellent romance with a little toss of mystery and action then this book is totally for you!

Missy's rating - 
 


Friday, June 24, 2011

Review - Impulse by Ellen Hopkins


Title: Impulse (Amazon)
Author: Ellen Hopkins
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry
Release Date: 2007
Pages: 666 (yikes!)
Genre: YA, Adult Fiction
Source: Library

Aspen Springs Psychiatric Hospital is a place for people who have played the ultimate endgame. The suicide attempt survivors portrayed in this novel tell starkly different stories, but these three embattled teens share a desperate need for a second chance. Ellen Hopkins, the author of Glass and Crank, presents another jarring, ultimately uplifting story about young people crawling back from a precipice. (Goodreads)

Kim’s Take: Sorry that I’m on a little Ellen Hopkins kick but I really liked her previous books and had to read the others! This is a stand alone book and not part of a series. Ellen Hopkins tends to write dark books, but this was by far the darkest I have read.

The story focuses on three teens battling demons which have driven them all to attempt suicide in different ways. This lands them all at Aspen Springs Psychiatric Hospital. Though they are all from very different backgrounds with very different problems, they seem to be drawn to each other.

Vanessa is a cutter who grew up with a mother diagnosed with severe Bipolar Disorder. Her father is in the military and often not around. Vanessa is dealing with a secret that haunts her. After a severe cutting episode, in which her little brother finds her in a pool of blood, she is sent to Aspen Springs.

Tony has never had much of a life. His mother is unstable and a drug user who consistently has men in and out the house. His father left long ago after not being able to deal with Tony’s mother. Tony was basically left behind and had very little contact with his father. When Tony takes revenge on the man who raped him as an 8-year-old, he is sentenced to juvenile hall for 8 years. When he returns to the street, he does basically anything and everything to survive. He meets a gay man, who gets him off of the street that he grows to love and is devastated when the man dies. After being found on the street, almost dead from an overdose, he is sent to Aspen Springs.

Connor comes from a very well-to-do family and is expected to be outstanding in everything he does. He is the handsome jock all the girls love. He is often compared to his twin sister and has grown up with a cold, unloving mother. After an affair with an older woman is discovered, the pressure becomes too much for him to deal with, he feels he will never find happiness, and he shoots himself in the chest. He survives and is also sent to Aspen Springs.

There are 5 levels they must work through to be considered well enough to leave the treatment facility. Level 5 consists of wilderness survival. Each of the characters discovers things within themselves, and more hope than they ever imagined.  The story doesn’t end on an exactly positive note but gives hope.

Once again, it is a very dark book but I feel it is a very necessary read for those who have friends or family dealing with depression or other mental illness. There were many parts that give an accurate account of what is going through a persons head and what it feels like to believe life is hopeless, that they are failures, unimportant, creating the will to just no longer “be”.

It is a very interesting, involved, and informative read. Because Hopkins writes in prose, the book is a very quick read, so don’t let the 666 (!) pages fool you. I read it in a few hours.

Kim’s Rating:

Thursday, June 23, 2011

Review - Die For Me by Amy Plum

Title: Die For Me (Revenants #1)
Author: Amy Plum
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release date:  May 10, 2011
Pages: 341
Genre: YA
Source: Gifted
Buy the book: Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Summary via Goodreads: 
In the City of Lights, two star-crossed lovers battle a fate that is destined to tear them apart again and again for eternity.

When Kate Mercier's parents die in a tragic car accident, she leaves her life--and memories--behind to live with her grandparents in Paris. For Kate, the only way to survive her pain is escaping into the world of books and Parisian art. Until she meets Vincent.

Mysterious, charming, and devastatingly handsome, Vincent threatens to melt the ice around Kate's guarded heart with just his smile. As she begins to fall in love with Vincent, Kate discovers that he's a revenant--an undead being whose fate forces him to sacrifice himself over and over again to save the lives of others. Vincent and those like him are bound in a centuries-old war against a group of evil revenants who exist only to murder and betray. Kate soon realizes that if she follows her heart, she may never be safe again.

In this incandescent debut, newcomer Amy Plum has created a powerful paranormal mythology with immortal revenants. The Paris setting comes enchantingly alive as a relentless struggle between good and evil takes place in its streets. Rich with romance, atmosphere, and thrills, Die for Me will leave readers breathlessly awaiting its sequel
  


Missy's take - 

Die For Me ended up being a surprise read for me. I had seen a mix of reviews on it, but decided I would give it a shot anyway. A friend gifted me with a copy and I dug right in. I ending up totally adoring this story.

Kate is living in Paris with her grandparents after the death of her mother and father. She is depressed and going through a very rough period after the loss. She separates herself from people and spends her time reading books so that she can escape the reality she is in. After some encouragement from her family she ends up spending some time in area cafes reading. They figure that it will at least get her out of the house. This is where she first spots Vincent. He is extremely attractive, mysterious and, she feels, completely out of her league.

The relationship that she had with Vincent progressed way more quickly then what I normally prefer. While insta love doesn't generally deter me from a book or the story, I do get a little tired of it. I like a book that actually builds the relationship with the characters. I like them to have more elements to the relationship rather than instant attraction to one another and nothing else to really base it on.

Overall, looking past the insta love, I really did enjoy the story itself. The whole aspect of the revenants that are a different kind of "zombie-like" character. Most of the supporting characters were extremely likable. I am looking forward to checking out the next in the series!

Missy's rating - 
 

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday (21)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. It lets us spotlight what upcoming books we can't wait for!
 
This week I am waiting on -

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith 
Publisher: Poppy
Release date: January 2, 2012
 
Summary via Goodreads:
Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?

Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan's life. She's stuck at JFK, late to her father's second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon to be step-mother that Hadley's never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport's cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he's British, and he's in seat 18B. Hadley's in 18A.

Twists of fate and quirks of timing play out in this thoughtful novel about family connections, second chances and first loves. Set over a 24-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver's story will make you believe that true love finds you when you're least expecting it.
 
I first heard about this book from Yani with The Secret Life of an Avid Reader. I hadn't heard of it before, she mentioned it and I decided to check it out. Thank goodness she did. It sounds awesome! This is yet another reason why I love bloggers so much! It's unfortunate that we have to wait so long for it though!
 
What are you waiting on this week??? 

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Tune In Tuesday (19)



This meme is hosted by Ginger at GReads & showcases music. Each week you can post an old or new song so that it gains more interest! So head on over and link up.




I so love Maroon 5. I have pretty much loved them since they came out. This is my current song obsession. I get in phases where I will just play certain songs on repeat an obscene amount of times. Such is the case with this song. Not to mention the fact that I think Adam Levine is totally adorable! :)

Never Gonna Leave This Bed - Maroon 5

Midsummer's Eve Giveaway Hop


The Midsummer's Eve Giveaway Hop is hosted by I Am A Reader, Not A Writer. You can check out all of the other blog's that are participating at the bottom of this post. 

For this giveaway we are giving away -
One book of your choice for $15 or less from The Book Depository
That means this giveaway is open to anyone that the Book Depository ships to.

Here are the rules - 

-You must be 13 or older
-Open to wherever the Book Depository ships 
-One entry per person
-Following is NOT required, but is always appreciated!
-Giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on Fri 6/24
-Fill out the form below





Check out the other blogs participating!

Monday, June 20, 2011

Review - The Usual Rules by Joyce Maynard

Title: The Usual Rules (Amazon)
Author: Joyce Maynard
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin 
Date Released: 2004
Pages: 400
Genre: YA
Source: Library

It's a Tuesday morning in Brooklyn—a perfect September day. Wendy is heading to school, eager to make plans with her best friend, worried about how she looks, mad at her mother for not letting her visit her father in California, impatient with her little brother and with the almost too-loving concern of her jazz musician stepfather. She's out the door to catch the bus. An hour later comes the news: A plane has crashed into the World Trade Center. Her mother's building

Through the eyes of thirteen-year-old Wendy, we gain entrance to the world rarely shown by those who documented the events of that one terrible day: a family's slow and terrible realization that Wendy's mother has died, and their struggle to go on with their lives in the face of crushing loss.

Absent for years, Wendy's real father shows up without warning. He takes her back with him to California, where she re-invents a life that comes to include a teenage mother, living on her own in a one-room apartment with a TV set and not much else; her father's cactus-grower girlfriend, newly reconnected with the son she gave up for adoption twenty years before; a sad and tender bookstore owner who introduces her to the voice of Anne Frank and to his autistic son; and a homeless skateboarder, on a mission to find his long-lost brother.

Over the winter and spring that follow, Wendy moves between the alternately painful and reassuring memories of her mother and the revelations that come with growing to know her real father for the first time. Pulled between her old life in Brooklyn and a new one three thousands miles away, Wendy is faced with a world where the usual rules no longer apply but eventually discovers a strength and capacity for compassion and survival that she never knew she possessed.
At the core of the story is Wendy's deep connection with her little brother, back in New York, who is grieving the loss of their mother without her. This a story about the ties of siblings, about children who lose their parents, parents who lose their children, and the unexpected ways they sometimes find one another again. Set against the backdrop of global and personal tragedy, and written in a style alternately wry and heartbreaking,  

The Usual Rules is an unexpectedly hopeful story of healing and forgiveness that will offer readers, young and old alike, a picture of how, out of the rubble, a family rebuilds its life. (Goodreads)

Kim’s Take:

This book was heartbreaking and heartwarming at the same time.

On 9/11, Wendy’s mother was at her job on the 86th floor of one of the World Trade Centers. Wendy, who is 13-years-old, along with her step-father and little brother, can only hold out hope that her mother will be found. As time goes by, it becomes apparent that this will not be the case.

The story is told through Wendy’s eyes and it is very heartbreaking to read of the emotions she goes through. Wendy adores her little brother and has a wonderful relationship with her stepfather. But she also feels she has become an additional burden to him as he deals with his young son and the loss of his beloved wife. So when her father, whom she has rarely seen and her mother hated, shows up at the door one evening to tell her he is taking her back to California with him, she doesn’t put up much of a fight.

I thought the story got a lot more interesting once she reached California. She meets so many interesting people, does things she never would have done previously, and starts to develop a relationship with her father. She learns so much more about life in the time that she is with him.

All of the characters just seem very realistic and reading about the hopelessness that Wendy felt when the world just seemed to go on without her mother was very believable. She keeps going back to times she was with her mother and feels a lot of regret over her behavior on many of those occasions. It really made my sympathize with her struggles and uncertainties about her life, future, and loss of her mother.

Though I thought the story was excellent, there were just a few things about it that kept me from giving the book 5 stars. The author does not use quotation marks and, in the beginning and few different places throughout the book, it would lose me and I would have to reread a part. Other than that, I really liked her writing style. There were also a few spots in the book that I found rather drawn out and boring, but the story as a whole made up for that.

It was a very thought-provoking story. I guess I just never really thought about what it was actually like for children whose parents just never came home on that day. I would really recommend it.

Kim’s Rating: 

Sunday, June 19, 2011

In My Mailbox (21)

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren that allows to showcase the books that we have received/purchased over the past week.
Gifted -
 Sleight by Jennifer Sommersby
Shut Out by Kody Keplinger
Die For Me by Amy Plum 
Torment by Lauren Kate 
Spider's Bite by Jennifer Estep
(Thanks to Jenn Sommersby,  Tiffany King, Heidi from YA Bibliophile, Cialina from Muggle-Born.net, KT from A Book Obsession)

Review -
The First Day of School...Forever by R.L. Stine


The Childe by C.A. Kunz (and all kinds of amazing swag!)
(Thanks to Macmillan & C.A. Kunz!)

Borrowed -
 
 Shelter by Harlan Coben

(Thanks to Heidi from YA Bibliophile1)

Won -
Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini
Creed's Honor by Linda Lael Miller
Baby, Drive South by Stephanie Bond
Trace of Fever by Lori Foster

(Thanks to Fiktshun & Harlequin!)

I had such an amazing book week this week! I am still going strong on the no buying ban.
What did you get this week???

Saturday, June 18, 2011

More Blogger Love!

So the other day I put up a post that listed some of my favorite blogs and bloggers and why I love them so much. 
This is going to be another one of those posts. 
Book bloggers are a million kinds of amazing. I have never come across a more awesome group of people. It's nice to find people who share my love of books and actually wants to talk to me about them! People in my everyday life could generally care less because they aren't readers.
Anyway on with the blogger love!



Katelyn is made of awesome. She writes amazing in depth reviews, which I love. She also has fantastic taste in books so after reading her reviews I normally check out the book. We share pretty similar taste in music and she is a master commenter!

------------------------------------------



I adore Heidi and I adore her blog. She is one of the sweetest and more generous book bloggers around. I have borrowed books from her on several occasions and she never hesitates to send them my way. She is always hosting awesome things on her blog like Sarah Dessen week and Sarah Rees Brennan Week (along with the next group of ladies on my list.) I love that she spreads author love!

--------------------------------------------------


button1
Next up is Jacinda and Jasmine from The Reading Housewives of Indiana. Along with Heidi they have co hosted some amazing things on their blog! I love that they co blog like my sister and I do and also love when they both review the same book so we can see 2 opinions at once. I wish my sister Kim and I read a lot of the same kinds of books. You should probably follow them on Twitter because they are awesome!

------------------------------------------------------

The Secret Life
I met Yani from The Secret Life of an Avid Reader through Twitter. I am pretty sure one of our first conversations had to do with gushing over our love of A Need So Beautiful by Suzanne Young. She obviously has excellent taste in books so that should be reason enough to follow her. If it's not then talk to her on Twitter, she is crazy friendly, and you will see what I mean!

----------------------------------------------

Photobucket
Julie at A Tale of Man of Many Reviews is another one of my faves. She is a lot of fun to talk to on Twitter and she shares my love for Indie authors. Indie and self published authors have a big place in my heart so finding someone else who loves them is awesome!


So the moral of the story is, if you don't follow these ladies already, you should probably follow them now!

Friday, June 17, 2011

Blogger Hop & Follow Friday (16)

Book Blogger Hop
Book Blogger Hop is hosted by  Crazy for Books make sure you head over there and link up!

This weeks question is: 
How many books are currently in you TBR (to be read) pile?

I have no idea! I think that I would be totally afraid if I counted. I am sure it's in the hundreds and honestly it grows everyday. I must add at least one book a day to it. Just the thought of this is stressing me out! lol!


**************************************

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee so make sure you head over and link up!

This weeks question is:
What's your favorite genre and what book in that genre made it your favorite?

Definitely dystopian. That without a doubt is my favorite genre right now. It all started with The Hunger Games when I finally got around to reading it last year. The thought of the world being so completely different is so amazing to me. There have been a lot of excellent dystopians out this year too. Who didn't love Divergent??? Other dystopians that I am totally loving are Delirium, Wither and Enclave. 


Thanks for stopping by!

Thursday, June 16, 2011

Review - The Summoner by Layton Green

Title: The Summoner (Amazon)
Author: Layton Green
Date Published: December 2010
Pages: Kindle Edition
Genre: Adult Fiction
Source: Author

A United States diplomat disappears in front of hundreds of onlookers while attending a religious ceremony in the bushveld of Zimbabwe.

Dominic Grey, Diplomatic Security special agent, product of a violent childhood and a worn passport, is assigned to investigate. Aiding the investigation is Professor Viktor Radek, religious phenomenologist and expert on cults, and Nya Mashumba, the local government liaison.

What Grey uncovers is a terrifying cult older than Western civilization, the harsh underbelly of a country in despair, a demagogic priest seemingly able to perform impossibilities, and the identity of the newest target.

Himself.

The first work in a globe-hopping series whose protagonists investigate the world’s most bizarre and dangerous cults, The Summoner is a stylish, haunting novel of mystery and suspense that will linger long after the last page is turned.
(Goodreads)

Kim’s Take – This book was an amazing mystery, dark, chilling thriller, with small bit of romance of romance thrown in. Incredible and diverse characters make the story even better. It is not a book for the light of heart, as it can be very gruesome, horrifying, and gripping. But the story pulls you right in and I found it impossible to put down!

Dominic Grey is a believable, emotionally conflicted hero who comes from a violent past and is an expert jiu jitsu, making him a formidable adversary. He is a Diplomatic Security special agent who has been recruited to find William Addison, a United States Diplomat in Zimbabwe. The country has become corrupt, leaving large numbers of residents vulnerable to a depraved Yoruban priest’s quest for spiritual and political power. Dominic could never imagine the dangerous and deadly cult powers he is about to experience that will test his faith and beliefs.

He is teamed up with Nya, a local Department of Ministry agent, with her own mysterious reasons for becoming so deeply involved in the case and Viktor, who is a religion and cult expert. I found all of the characters to be very interesting and diverse. And other characters brought about in the book were equally interesting and mysterious.

They begin investigating the disappearance of Addison, who disappeared in a cloud of mist at a religious ceremony with hundreds of onlookers. Unfortunately, the believers are so terrified and such believers in the religious cult that they will not talk or reveal the identity of the Na’anja, one who summons, who is the leader of the Juju ceremonies held in remote places. These ceremonies are described in gruesome detail which makes you feel as if you are watching a movie and helps you understand why the participants fall under the psychosomatic belief of what they are seeing, which is described by Viktor as common in all religions, including those in the United States.  

The three soon become the targets of the evil Na’anja themselves and will become the next victims if they can’t overcome their inability to discover the identity of the Na’anja. I found myself suspicious of each character but was completely surprised to find out who he actually was.

The story is just incredible and well researched. Green’s descriptive writing style is so well that I found myself thinking I could actually smell and feel the African scenery. I loved learning about the customs, cultures, and struggles of the Zimbabwe people. And Viktor was very informative of religious beliefs and I found him to be a very fascinating character.

This is going to be the first in a series of books and I am so anxious to read the next. Layton Green is a superb author and I have every expectation that he will become well know for his excellent writing and stories.

This book was incredible and I highly recommend it!

Kim’s Rating – 

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday (20)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. It lets us spotlight what upcoming books we can't wait for!

This week I am waiting on -
 The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater 
Publisher: Scholastic
Release date: October 18, 2011

Summary:
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Shiver and Linger comes a brand new, heartstopping novel.
With her trademark lyricism, Maggie Stiefvater turns to a new world, where a pair are swept up in a daring, dangerous race across a cliff--with more than just their lives at stake should they lose.

Okay so that's not much of a summary, but I have seen more of one around the blogosphere. I just didn't want to post anything that isn't official. Anyway, I LOVE every single book I have read by her! Her writing is absolutely fantastic. Also this book comes out just 11 days before my birthday AND I just so happy to be a Scorpio. I think this book and I are destined to be together! :)

What are you waiting on this week??? 

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Blogs & Bloggers I Love!


I have only been blogging for about 5 months, but I have come across so many amazing people and blogs in that short time. I feel like I should give a shout to all of these people that have helped me out and given me some amazing book recommendations!



One of the very first people that I chatted with on Twitter was Ginger at GReads! She has such an amazing blog, is a super sweet person and has the BEST book recommendations! If you are looking for amazing well thought out reviews her blog is an excellent place to go.





Next up is Shannon over at Books Devoured. I love me some food so what better way to rate your reviews than with food ratings! Am I right? Shannon introduced me to one of my favorite books of the year, The Grayton Beach Affair, which is something that I would never have picked up otherwise. Her review was so incredible that just had to have it. She even gifted me with a copy of it! I am so incredibly glad that she did. 



Cari's Book Blog is one of the very first blogs that I came across. I love her reviews and the style of her blog. We also share a love for Ikea bookshelves. If you aren't friends with her on Twitter you definitely should be. She is a super sweet person and always let's me know when something on one of my reviews is all messed up (darn blogger formatting) so I don't have to be embarrassed for too long!



I don't think she has a blog button! I completely love how honest and real April's reviews are. I love all the passionate posts that she has about the importance of the library and not being a douche at BEA. Some of her posts seriously make me laugh. Also, she is the reason that I decided to give audiobooks a try. On her suggestion I tried out Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone and it was instant love. I can't believe that I thought audiobooks would bore me. I have been utterly enjoying experiencing Harry Potter in a new light!



Last, but definitely least, is Alex at A Girl Books &  Other Things. She has book reviews and movie reviews. Both of which I completely love. She is always one of the first people to comment on my reviews and let me know what she thinks. She introduced me to Wuthering High, which is the first book in the Bard Academy series by Cara Lockwood.


If you don't follow any of these amazing blogs they are definitely worth checking out! They are all incredibly talented bloggers. There are so many other bloggers that I love and I am sure that I will do this feature again in the future. My list could go on and on!


Tune In Tuesday (18)

 

This meme is hosted by Ginger at GReads & showcases music. Each week you can post an old or new song so that it gains more interest! So head on over and link up.




I am sure that everyone and their brother knows about this song, but I love it oh so much! Keane is amazing! Also, my boyfriend Darren Criss (Blaine) sang it on Glee and was amazing! I am going to go ahead and put a video of his version in this post too!


Keane - Somewhere Only We Know



The Warblers version

Monday, June 13, 2011

Review - Heart of the Matter by Emily Giffin


Title: Heart of the Matter (Amazon)
Author: Emily Giffin
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Publish Date: March 2010
Pages: 352
Genre: YA/Adult
Source: Friend

Tessa Russo is the mother of two young children and the wife of a renowned pediatric surgeon.  Despite her own mother's warnings, Tessa has recently given up her career to focus on her family and the pursuit of domestic happiness. From the outside, she seems destined to live a charmed life.

Valerie Anderson is an attorney and single mother to six-year-old Charlie--a boy who has never known his father.  After too many disappointments, she has given up on romance--and even to some degree, friendships--believing that it is always safer not to expect too much.

Although both women live in the same Boston suburb, the two have relatively little in common aside from a fierce love for their children.  But one night, a tragic accident causes their lives to converge in ways no one could have imagined. 

In alternating, pitch-perfect points of view, Emily Giffin creates a moving, luminous story of good people caught in untenable circumstances. Each being tested in ways they never thought possible. Each questioning everything they once believed. And each ultimately discovering what truly matters most.
(Goodreads)

Kim’s Take – As usual, this was another great book by Emily Giffin. Not quite as good as the others I have read, but great all the same. The story seems to be a little bit different from the ones I have already read but you can always count on her books to be a great read.

In this book, Tessa has become a stay-at-home mom to her two children, while her husband is a well-renown, good-looking, pediatric surgeon. But Tessa is not worried about his fidelity because it was love at first sight for both of them and Tessa broke her engagement to be with him. She spends her days devoted to her children, with her only outside friendships being the nosy, gossiping parents of the children her kids go to private school with. Not the life she chose for herself but one she is willing to live to spend the time with her children without spending so much time away from home working. Her best friend, and confidant, lives in New York, though she speaks with her frequently.

Valerie has no choice but to work outside the home. She is a single parent to her son and works as a lawyer. Her son, Charlie, has never met his father and Valerie prefers it that way. He turned out to be quite a loser. Valerie’s only outside companionship is that of her twin brother. Her life is devoted to her son, though she is often very lonely.

On a fateful night, her son insists on going to a sleep over with one of his classmates, though Valerie has always been very overprotective and not happy about letting him go.
After an accident at the sleepover results in Charlie being severely burned, Valerie’s life is turned upside down. And she meets Tessa’s husband, Nick, who is to become Charlie’s surgeon.

Throughout Charlie’s surgeries and hospital stay, Valerie and Nick seem to become close friends. After spending so much time together, even after Charlie has been released from the hospital, the friendship develops into much more. Tessa begins to suspect that something is going on but is unaware that it is with Valerie, whom she has never met.

After Tesssa finds out about the affair and kicks Nick out of her house, she finds out that the other woman is Valerie and asks for a meeting. Tessa needs to know if Nick told Valerie that he loved her. With this information, Tessa must make a decision to become a single mother or try to save her marriage.

The characters were easy to relate to and I found myself feeling badly for all of them at some point. The book gives you a look into infidelity in a relationship and how solutions are not as easy as they seem before an event like this happens in your own relationship. And I really liked how some of the minor characters turned out to be some from her earlier books!

An over-all great read that I would really recommend.

 Kim’s Rating 

Sunday, June 12, 2011

In My Mailbox (20)

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren that allows to showcase the books that we have received/purchased over the past week.
 
Library-
 Harry Potter & the Sorcerer's Stone Audiobook by J.K. Rowling
Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion


Gifted-
Numbers by Rachel Ward 
Blood Promise by Richelle Mead

(Big thanks to A Life Bound by Books & Isalys @ Book Soulmates!)


So this week I decided to try my first audiobook and I am in love. A big thanks to April at Good Books & Good Wine for suggesting Harry Potter. I LOVE Jim Dale who narrates. He does an amazing job and makes me love the story even more. I also got a couple of RAK's this week that I am super excited about! 

What did you get this week??

Saturday, June 11, 2011

Review - Paradise by Jill S. Alexander


Title:  Paradise
Author: Jill S. Alexander
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Release date: Jul y 5, 2011
Pages: 256
Genre: YA
Source: I Read Banned Book Tours
Buy the book: Amazon / Barnes & Noble


Summary via Goodreads: 
Paisley Tillery is the drummer for a country rock band. If they can make it to the stage at the Texapalooza music fest, then Paisley will be closer to her dream of a career in music and a ticket out of her small Texas town.
Drumming and music are what Paisley has always wanted. Until the band gets a new lead singer, the boy from Paradise, Texas. With Paradise in her life, what Paisley wants, and what she needs, complicate her dreams coming true.

Missy's take - 

Paisley is the drummer in a band. Unfortunately it has to be kept secret because her mother would never approve. She thinks that by making it to Texapalooza and hopefully winning, she can prove to her mother that she is really good. The only problem is that their band lacks one very important thing, a lead singer. Enter Gabriela, or Paradise as Paisley likes to call him based on where he comes from. He's cocky, but he's good. So good that they believe they have a chance to win.

I loved all the relationships that the characters had in this book. The blossoming romance between Paisley and Paradise. The understanding that Paisley has with her sister, Lacey. The unspoken honesty she shares with her dad. He knows she is in a band, but he is letting her wait for the time she wants to tell her mother.

Paisley was so easy to relate to. Wanting to follow her dreams and being slightly afraid of consequences. What her mother would think or do. If it would ever get her out of her small town. She was slightly sarcastic and I loved her.

What I really didn't like was the ending. There were several chapters there at the end that I really did not think were necessary. As much as I loved the book this kind of spoiled it for me. It didn't fit with the rest of the story in my mind. Of course I can't give any details, because that would give things away, but I was totally bummed.

Overall it was a really great story. Unfortunately, due mostly to the ending, I have to give it a 3.5.

Missy's rating -

Friday, June 10, 2011

TGIF (3)


TGIF is hosted by the fabulous Ginger over at GReads! Head on over and link up!

This Friday's Question:
YA Saves: How do you feel about the "dark" books filling our YA shelves today?
I think that "dark" books are just as important, if not more, than any other books on the shelves today. These books bring awareness about things that teenagers are going through. Having had a little sister who was a "cutter" at one point in her life, I actually think reading a book about it would have helped her. Knowing that there are other people out there that struggle with the same issues that you have makes you feel less alone. Had she read something like this prior I can't help but believe that it may have steered her in another direction. Made her think twice about the decision that she made.

These "dark" books cover a lot of topics that people don't talk enough about. Bullying, suicide, self inflicted injury are just a couple of the important topics that could open up a teenagers mind to other options besides those. Anyway, I think they are extremely important and it's very upsetting that people would think they would be anything otherswise!

Thursday, June 9, 2011

Review - Dead Spell by Belinda S. Frisch

Title: Dead Spell (Volume 1) (Amazon)
Author: Belinda S. Frisch
Publisher: CreateSpace
Release Date: 2011
Pages: 198
Genre: YA, Horror
Source: Author

17-year-old Harmony Wolcott is slowly succumbing to the haunting darkness of a forgotten memory. Afraid to ask for help or admit what's happening to her and around her, Harmony looks for the truth while trying to escape what it's done to her family.

Dead Spell is about a ghost with a past and a girl that would die to forget it.
(Goodreads)



Kim’s Take – This was a really good story with lots of twists and turns to keep you on your toes. 17-year-old Harmony has a pretty sad and pathetic life. Her mother suffers from schizophrenia, is a drug addict, and sleeps with men for money. They often have no power in the run-down trailer they live in. Harmony does not know who her father is and seems to be the parent in what little relationship she has with her mother. And now, Harmony is beginning to have issues of her own.

She is being haunted by a ghost named Tom, who forces her to self-injure. She is scared people will think she is crazy like her mother if she tells anyone so the only other person who knows is her best friend since childhood, Brea. Harmony and Brea couldn’t be more different. Brea’s family is influential and she lives in a nice house.  She is a good girl who doesn’t smoke, do drugs, or have sex. These are all things that Harmony does on a regular basis. And she doesn’t seem to mind getting Brea in trouble.

Harmony’s boyfriend, Adam, is older than Harmony but is trying to save her from herself and provide the stability she needs. The harder he tries to help her, the harder she pushes back.

Harmony knows the only way she can try to save herself from Tom is by trying to figure out who he was and what he wants from her. But time is running out and each attack is bringing her closer to death. And then it is too late.

Adam and Brea are left to figure out what has happened and why. And the story got more exciting and interesting the closer I got to the end. It ended really good, and not at all how I thought it would go.

The only trouble I had was relating to some of the characters. I guess the fact that Brea and Adam seemed to take so much crap from Harmony, and just kept coming back for more, was something I couldn’t relate to that well because I don’t know anyone who would put up with so much or continually put themselves out for someone like that. It just seemed unrealistic. But, at the same time, Harmony was so mentally out of it towards the end that I was happy someone was there for her and stuck by her side, though she didn’t seem to appreciate any of it.

This is apparently a first book in a series and I’m curious as to where the story will go from this point. I would really be interested in reading anything by the author that furthers the story.

I really liked Frisch’s style of writing which was easy to follow and alternated between Brea and Harmony narrating. It’s great for those of you who like an exciting, mysterious, and scary book that is a quick and easy read. I read it in one sitting because, once I’m involved in a story, I have to know what is going to happen next!
  

Kim’s Rating –