Saturday, April 30, 2011

Review - Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

Title: Nightshade
Author: Andrea Cremer
Publisher: Philomel
Release Date: October 19th, 2010
Pages: 452
Genre: YA
Source: Library

Summary via Goodreads:
Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she'll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers.

But when she violates her masters' laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything— including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?


Missy's take -

This is one of those books that, after I finish, I wonder what the heck took me so long to finally read it! I enjoyed this book so much and I am happy that I finally got around to checking it out. At least I don't have to wait quite as long for the sequel!

Nightshade follows Calla, a high school girl, who also happens to be an alpha wolf. Since the moment she is born her life has been mapped out for her. When she turns 18 she will marry the alpha from another pack and they will form a new pack together.

Calla accepts all of this. She understands that this is her role in life. That is until Shay, a human boy, shows up at their school. Calla is instantly drawn to him and this connection threatens everything that she has always believed to be true.

I was so engrossed with this book. I couldn't flip the pages fast enough to find out what was going to happen next. Unlike a lot of people I enjoy a good love triangle in a book. While not always completely believable, because how many girls have two boys fighting over them, it makes for a fun enjoyable read to me.

Calla was a fabulous main character who was filled with turmoil. So many things going on in her life all at once and she doesn't know how to control them. She makes some not so smart decisions which just prove to make things even harder for her. All of this makes her a realistic teenager in my opinion (besides the being a wolf part, of course!)

The supporting cast was great as well. I love her brother, Ansel. He is exactly the way a little brother should be. The male alpha from the other pack, Ren, sounds like an absolute hottie!

Overall I enjoyed this book immensely. Since I got it from the library it is definitely a book that I need to buy for my own personal collection. I am so happy that Wolfsbane, the sequel, comes out in a few short months because we are left with quite a cliffhanger and I can't wait to see what happens next!

Missy's take -

Friday, April 29, 2011

Blogger Hop & Follow Friday (13)


Book Blogger Hop
Book Blogger Hop is hosted by  Crazy for Books make sure you head over there and link up!

This weeks question is: 
 Summer is coming quickly - what 2011 summer release are you are most looking forward to?
 
 There are SO many right now! The two that pop right into my head are Anna Dressed in Blood which will be out in August and Love Story by Jennifer Echols coming out in June I believe.

**************************************

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee so make sure you head over and link up!

This weeks question is:
Keeping with the dystopian and apocalypse theme that seems to be running rampant on parajunkee.com, I have one very hard question for you: If you were stocking your bomb shelter, what books would you HAVE to include if you only had space for ten?

Wow, this is a crazy tough one. I love SO many books. Here are the first ones that came to my mind -

The Summer series by Jenny Han (3)
The Stand by Stephen King
The Hunger Games trilogy (3)
Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Delirium by Lauren Oliver
Wither by Lauren DeStefano

You might notice that a lot of these are books that I have recently read or recently came out. I loved all of these books. I am sure my list will continuously change, but these are the freshest in my mind as far as most loved books that I would want with me RIGHT now!

Thanks for stopping by! We hope you will stick around and follow!

Thursday, April 28, 2011

Review - Such a Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess

316k0hGInHL
Title: Such a Pretty Girl
Author: Laura Wiess
Publisher: MTV Books and Pocket Books
Release Date: 2007
Pages: 212
Genre: YA
Source: Library

Summary:
They promised Meredith nine years of safety, but only gave her three.
Her father was supposed to be locked up until Meredith turned eighteen. She thought she had time to grow up, get out, and start a new life. But Meredith is only fifteen, and today her father is coming home from prison.
Today her time has run out. (Goodreads)

Kim’s take -

This was a very quick read but definitely not an uplifting story.
Meredith’s father was supposed to be in prison until she turned eighteen, but finds out only the day before, that he is being released early. She is only fifteen. And he’s moving to the same condo complex she lives in with her mother. Her mother has stood by his side through it all and is determined to have them become a family again. But it becomes obvious to Meredith that he has not changed at all and that she is in danger. With the help of one of her fathers paralyzed victims and a retired cop, Meredith will put herself in even more danger to ensure the safety of others.

This was just a sad story. Meredith has really has no kind of life after her father was convicted of his crimes and sent to prison. She and her mother are shunned by their community. I really felt for Meredith because she had no one looking out for her best interests so she was really all alone. I wanted to bring her home and take care of her!

It’s a very good book with an original storyline which examines the crimes against children without the graphic descriptions.

Kim’s Rating

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday (13)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. It lets us spotlight what upcoming books we can't wait for!
 
 
This week I am waiting on -

Epic Fail by Claire LaZebnik
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: August 2nd, 2011
 
Summary via Goodreads:
At Coral Tree Prep in Los Angeles, who your parents are can make or break you. Case in point:

• As the son of Hollywood royalty, Derek Edwards is pretty much prince of the school—not that he deigns to acknowledge many of his loyal subjects.

• As the daughter of the new principal, new-girl-on-campus Elise Benton isn’t exactly on everyone’s must-sit-next-to-at-lunch list.

When Elise’s beautiful sister catches the eye of the prince’s best friend, Elise gets to spend a lot of time with Derek, making her the envy of every girl. Except she refuses to fall for any of his rare smiles and instead warms up to his enemy, the surprisingly charming social outcast Webster Grant. But in this hilarious tale of fitting in and flirting, not all snubs are undeserved, not all celebrity brats are bratty, and pride and prejudice can get in the way of true love for only so long. Fans of Susane Colasanti (When It Happens), Polly Shulman (Enthusiasm), and, of course, Jane Austen will love finding out if Elise’s love life will be an epic win or an epic fail.

This sounds all kinds of amazing! I really can't wait for it! 

What are you waiting on this week???

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Review - Love the One You're With by Emily Giffin

Title: Love the One You’re With (Amazon)
Author: Emily Giffin
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Release Date: 2008
Pages: 342
Genre: YA/Adult Fiction
Source: Friend

The New York Times bestselling author of Something Borrowed, Something Blue, and Baby Proof delivers another captivating novel about women and the choices that define them. This is the story for anyone who has ever wondered: How can I truly love the one I'm with when I can't forget the one who got away?

Ellen and Andy's first year of marriage doesn't just seem perfect, it is perfect. There is no question how deep their devotion is, and how naturally they bring out the best in each other. But one fateful afternoon, Ellen runs into Leo for the first time in eight years. Leo, the one who brought out the worst in her. Leo, the one who left her heartbroken with no explanation. Leo, the one she could never quite forget. When his reappearance ignites long-dormant emotions, Ellen begins to question whether the life she's living is the one she's meant to live.

Love the One You're With is a powerful story about one woman at the crossroads of true love and real life. (Goodreads)

Kim’s take: Another good book from Emily Giffin. I love books where I really can’t figure out the ending until you are almost there. And because I liked both men, I wasn’t rooting for one over the other.

It’s a novel about a situation that many of us go through when there is that unanswered question about how life would have turned out if things had worked out with our first love.  Ellen and Andy have had a great first year of marriage. Andy is the brother of her best friend with whom she had been roommates. Andy has been the perfect husband and Ellen could not ask for more. But when she has a chance meeting with her first love, Leo, she begins to rethink everything. What would life be like if she had stayed with Leo? Though their relationship was turbulent toward the end, it was filled with passion and an obsession on Ellen’s part. This is often the case for a woman when she falls in love the first time, so her feelings were very relatable.  Her life revolved around Leo, so she was understandably devastated when they broke up.

Leo manages to drag Ellen closer into his life after that meeting. He is a journalist and she is a photographer. He manages for her to be assigned to take photos for the stories he is writing. And the more time she spends with him, they more she starts falling for him and questioning her marriage.

After moving from New York, where Leo lives, to Georgia, Ellen is about to embark on an assignment with Leo that could change her future. Is her life and stability with Andy   enough to keep her from the risk losing everything by hooking up with Leo again? It was easy to see how the decision was hard for her which made me feel bad for her and both men. I wasn’t sure who she would choose until the end which made the book even better.

I am such an Emily Giffin fan now. She is always a great read!


Kim’s Rating:


Tune In Tuesday (11)



This meme is hosted by Ginger at GReads & showcases music. Each week you can post an old or new song so that it gains more interest! So head on over and link up.




This is another older song, but I can't get enough of it. It is in my top 5 favorite songs of all time. I love Jakob Dylan and I love The Wallflowers. I also LOVE Adam Duritz from the Counting Crows and he sings back up on this song, which makes me love it even more. I say love a lot! :) Enjoy!

The Wallflowers - 6th Avenue Heartache

Monday, April 25, 2011

Review - Sail by James Patterson and Howard Roughan

Title: Sail (Amazon)
Author: James Patterson, Howard Roughan
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Release Date: 2008
Pages: 388
Genre: Adult Fiction
Source: Own

America's #1 bestselling thriller writer, James Patterson presents his most suspenseful, explosive tale ever. Only an hour out of port, the Dunne family's summer getaway to paradise is already turning into the trip from hell. The three children are miserable-and not shy about showing it. Katherine Dunne had hoped this vacation would bring back the togetherness they'd lost when her husband died four years earlier. Maybe if her new husband had joined them it would all have been okay.
Suddenly, a disaster hits-and it's perfect. Faced with this real threat, the Dunnes rediscover the meaning of family. But this catastrophe is just a tiny taste of the true danger that lurks ahead-somewhere out there, someone wants to make sure that the Dunne family never leaves paradise alive. (Goodreads)

Kim’s Take: This book was absolutely excellent! I read it in an evening because I couldn’t put it down. The action starts right from the beginning and doesn’t let up until the end. I didn’t want to put it down because I just had to know what happened next.

This book had it all. Mystery, deceit, martial affairs, corruption, attempted suicide, and murder were all a part of the plot.

Katherine’s intention is to take her three children sailing for two months on her deceased husband’s boat. She has never been close to them since she spent so much of their lives at the hospital where she is a doctor. The captain will be her deceased husband’s brother, Jake, whom the kids adore. And his expertise will be needed as disaster begins only an hour into their journey. There are just non-stop things happening and just when you didn’t think it could get any worse, they do.

Lost at sea, they believe the Coast Guard will be coming to rescue them at any moment after their distress signal was sent out. But what they don’t realize is that they have been set up for disaster and the Coast Guard has purposely received the wrong coordinates, making it impossible to find them.
And just when you thought you had the ending figured out, it would change again. It was so suspenseful right up until the last pages. James Patterson never disappoints!

Kim’s Rating

Sunday, April 24, 2011

In My Mailbox (13)


In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren that allows to showcase the books that we have received/purchased over the past week.

Bought -
 
Watch Me by Lauren Barnholdt
Meant to Be by Tiffany King
A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb

For Review -
 

Zombies Don't Cry by Rusty Fischer
The Ivy: Secrets by Lauren Kunze & Rina Onur
Divergent by Veronica Roth
Everfound by Neal Schusterman
Illusions by Aprilynn Pike

Thanks to Rusty Fischer, HarperTeen & Simon & Schuster!)

Won-

Shakespeare Makes Me Puke by Kari Rains (thanks to A Tale of Many Reviews)

Gifted-

Devil's Kiss by Sarwat Chadda (thanks to Pam!)

I had an absolutely awesome week this week! When Divergent showed up on my doorstep I may have freaked out a little. Okay probably like a lot!

What did you get this week???

Saturday, April 23, 2011

Review - Two Way Street by Lauren Barnholdt

Title: Two Way Street (Amazon)
Author: Lauren Barnholdt
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: June 26th, 2007
Pages: 288
Genre:  YA
Source: Library

Summary via Goodreads:
This is Jordan and Courtney, totally in love. Sure, they were an unlikely high school couple. But they clicked; it worked. They're even going to the same college, and driving cross-country together for orientation.

Then Jordan dumps Courtney -- for a girl he met on the Internet.

It's too late to change plans, so the road trip is on. Courtney's heartbroken, but figures she can tough it out for a few days. La la la -- this is Courtney pretending not to care.

But in a strange twist, Jordan cares. A lot.

Turns out, he's got a secret or two that he's not telling Courtney. And it has everything to do with why they broke up, why they can't get back together, and how, in spite of it all, this couple is destined for each other.

 
Missy's take -

Courtney is headed off to college. She ends up having to take the trip from Florida to college in Boston with her ex-boyfriend. They had a bad breakup (he dumped her for a girl on Myspace) and she is absolutely dreading it. She is still in love with him, but tries to do everything in her power not to let him know that she still cares. This proves to be quite difficult and they butt heads through out the trip.

Jordan, on the other hand, still loves Courtney too. He can't tell her though because of a stupid secret he has been keeping from her. He wants to be with her, but if he thinks that if he tells her that she is going to hate him even more.

When to story begins we see it from Courtney's point of view in the present. As the story progresses we see things in her ex boyfriend Jordan's point of view. It hops back and forth from past to present so we can see how their relationship began and ended and everything in between. I love stories that are told in dual points of view. That way you are never left wondering what the other character is thinking.

I really loved the story and the whole concept of the book. The only thing that I really didn't like about the book was the ending. I didn't care for it at all. It basically left everything unanswered for me. I am still going to give the book 3.5 stars because I loved all the other content. Just not the ending so much. I don't know if there is a sequel out there now or if there will be, but I sure hope so. Everything was left too unresolved for me. I loved the characters so much and I really want to know exactly how things ended up for them!


Missy's rating-

Friday, April 22, 2011

Review - Sleight by Jenn Sommersby

Title:  Sleight: Book One of the AVRA-K (Amazon)
Author: Jennifer Sommersby
Publisher: Self-published
Release Date: March 25th, 2011
Genre: YA
Pages: 342
Source: Author

Summary via Goodreads:
Her mom is dead.
Ghosts follow her around.
Her best friend is an elephant.
And she’s about to meet the biggest game changer of all: a boy. With a secret.

When circus-dwelling Gemma Flannery learns she will be attending public school for the first time in her seventeen years, little does she know that fitting in with her 12th-grade classmates will be the least of her concerns. A pro at hiding her knack for seeing the dead (“shades”), Gemma is grieving the recent suicide of her mentally ill mother, a process eased by the introduction of her first real love interest, the charming and painfully handsome Henry Dmitri, who is harboring his own collection of dangerous secrets. Together, they will be presented with a frightening challenge: to assume their roles as heirs to a 3000-year-old magical text, the AVRAKEDAVRA, a book the über-rich, sleight-of-being master Lucian Dmitri would do anything to get his hands on. As each terrifying layer in her new reality melts away, Gemma unearths truths that her quiet, nomadic life with the Cinzio Traveling Players is not at all what she’d always cherished. Gemma and Henry must rely on each other to stop Lucian’s diabolical plotting that will bring the world to its tired, scab-riddled knees, and are sent on the flight of their young lives, to save themselves, their families, and the world from the darkest kind of destruction.

Let the chase begin.



Missy's take - 

Sleight was unlike anything that I have ever read before. The story line, characters, basically everything was completely unique to me. Have you ever read something that you loved so much you didn't even know how to describe your love for it? Well it's kinda like that for me with this one.

Let me start with the characters. First and foremost we have Gemma. She is troubled from the start considering, as the story begins, her mother, Delia has just committed suicide. Delia has been in and out of mental institutions for as long as Gemma can remember. Gemma can also she "shades". Shades are dead people, but they do not talk to her. They just show up in random place like part of the scenery. This is something that is kept between her and her guardians because she is afraid everyone else with think that she is crazy like Delia was.  Gemma lives with Ted and Marlene who she considers her aunt and uncle. They are all part of a traveling circus.

The circus is one of my favorite aspects of the book. I have never read a book before when the circus has played such an intricate part in a story. It was really interesting to hear some of the behind the scenes things about it.

I fell in absolute love with the other chararcters too! Ted, Marlene, Uncle Irwin, Ash, Janie, Henry and Lucian. I love the name Lucian! What a perfect bad guy name right? Anyway they all played into the story and were all fabulous in the roles that they played. Jenn wrote each character so believably. She made me fall in love with just about every single one of them! I wanted Irwin to be my uncle too!

After some odd circumstances arise, the traveling circus ends up coming to a stop because of Lucian Dimitri. For the first time in her life Gemma will have to go to public school to finish out her last 4 months of her senior year. She is very unhappy about it. She loves the secluded life that she has been living with her circus family. It is at the high school that she meets Henry, the son of Lucian. She instantly has a connection with him and he, like her, has a special ability.

It's through Henry that all sorts of revelations come about and Gemma finds out who she really is, why she has the ability she does and who her "real" family is. This puts Gemma and her circus family in great danger.

I LOVED this book. Actually love is probably putting it lightly. I am slightly obsessed with the story. It was absolutely fascinating. We are left with quite a cliffhanger and I don't know how I am going to wait until this fall to find out what happens. I might have to Twitter stalk Jenn until she tells me all about it!

Overall I HIGHLY recommend this book to people who are interested in YA paranormal. It was a fantastic and quick read. Jenn is a fabulous author and I can't wait for the next installment

This is another one of those books that kept me up late into the night and then followed me to work the next day. There was no way that I could wait a whole 8 hour shift before picking it back up again. Shhhh don't tell my boss! :)

Missy's rating - 

Blogger Hop & Follow Friday (12)

Book Blogger Hop
Book Blogger Hop is hosted by  Crazy for Books make sure you head over there and link up!

This weeks question is: 
If you find a book you love, do you hunt down other books by the same author?

Absolutely! I love to find authors that have a bunch of books I end up loving. I do this with romance authors like Rachel Gibson, Christie Ridgway and Lori Foster especially. I have read almost every book by each of them and I can't get enough!


**************************************

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee so make sure you head over and link up!

This weeks question is:
What's on your current playlist?

I am obsessing over The Script and Adele at the moment. I have actually been obsessing over The Script for a while now, but ever since Rolling In The Deep by Adele came out I keep playing it on repeat! 

Thanks for stopping by! We hope you will stick around and follow!

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Review - Something Blue by Emily Giffin

Title: Something Blue (Amazon)
Author: Emily Giffin
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Release Date: 2006
Pages: 338
Genre: YA, Adult fiction
Source: Friend

Darcy Rhone thought she had it all figured out: the more beautiful the girl, the more charmed her life. Never mind substance. Never mind playing by the rules. Never mind karma. But Darcy's neat, perfect world turns upside down when her best friend, Rachel, the plain-Jane good girl, steals her fiance, while Darcy finds herself completely alone for the first time in her life with a baby on the way.
Darcy tries to recover, fleeing to her childhood friend living in London and resorting to her tried-and-true methods for getting what she wants. But as she attempts to recreate her glamorous life on a new continent, Darcy finds that her rules no longer apply.
It is only then that Darcy can begin her journey toward self-awareness, forgiveness, and motherhood. Something Blue is a novel about one womans surprising discoveries about the true meaning of friendship, love, and happily-ever-after. It's a novel for anyone who has ever, even secretly, wondered if the last thing you want is really the one thing you need.
(Goodreads)

Kim’s take: This book picks up where Something Borrowed left off, only it’s from Darcy’s point of view. I wasn’t too excited about it because I had come to hate Darcy in the first book. But I actually started to feel sorry for her this time because she was so shallow, selfish, clueless, and unhappy. In this book, everything she has done in the past is coming back to haunt her. 

Of course, she still wants to blame all of her misfortune on others until her friend, Ethan, rips into her and tells her like it is. It turns into a huge wake-up call for Darcy. Intent on changing herself, she finds it hard to not revert back to her selfish and shallow ways and thoughts. But she charges on, determined to start a new life in a new country while pregnant. Of course, it’s not going as smoothly as she thought it would. And, all along, she is falling for the one person she never considered worthy mate.

This was just as good as the first book and some of the things Darcy does and says are just so comical because she is so clueless. I really wish there was a third book because I would love to know what happens even farther down the line!

Kim’s Rating:


Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (12)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. It lets us spotlight what upcoming books we can't wait for!

This week I am waiting on - 

Ten Things We Did (and probably shouldn't have) by Sarah Mlynowski
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release date: June 7th, 2011

Summary via Goodreads:
If given the opportunity, what sixteen-year-old wouldn’t jump at the chance to move in with a friend and live parent-free? Although, maybe “opportunity” isn’t the right word, since April had to tell her dad a tiny little untruth to make it happen (see #1: “Lied to Our Parents”). But she and her housemate, Vi, are totally responsible and able to take care of themselves. How they ended up “Skipping School” (#3), “Throwing a Crazy Party” (#8), “Buying a Hot Tub” (#4), and, um, “Harboring a Fugitive” (#7) at all is kind of a mystery to them.

How cute does this sound? I am in love with contemporary YA right now and this sounds like it will be perfect for me. Can't wait!

What are you waiting on???

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Review - Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin


Title: Something Borrowed
Author: Emily Giffin
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Date Released: 2004
Pages: 336
Genre: Adult

Rachel White is the consummate good girl. A hard-working attorney at a large Manhattan law firm and a diligent maid of honor to her charmed best friend Darcy, Rachel has always played by all the rules. Since grade school, she has watched Darcy shine, quietly accepting the sidekick role in their lopsided friendship. But that suddenly changes the night of her thirtieth birthday when Rachel finally confesses her feelings to Darcy's fiance, and is both horrified and thrilled to discover that he feels the same way. As the wedding date draws near, events spiral out of control, and Rachel knows she must make a choice between her heart and conscience. In so doing, she discovers that the lines between right and wrong can be blurry, endings aren't always neat, and sometimes you have to risk everything to be true to yourself. (Goodreads)

Kim’s take: I really liked this book. It was such a good story with a great surprise ending. The story is told through Rachel’s view. Rachel is the consummate rule follower. She tends blends into the background compared to her best friend since childhood, Darcy. Darcy seems to have been born with a silver spoon in her mouth and doesn’t hesitate to let anyone know how fantastic she is. What Darcy doesn’t realize is that Rachel and Darcy’s fiancé, Dex, are having an affair behind her back. As the wedding date nears, Rachel gives Dex an ultimatum. He must make the choice to get married or break his engagement to be with Rachel.  

I found the characters very relatable and tended to identify more with Rachel’s character. Darcy is unbelievably shallow and narcissistic, blaming anyone but herself for any problems that come her way. What made the ending even better was that I knew the second book, Something Blue, would pick up the story from the view of Darcy. As much as I hated Darcy by the end of the book, I still wanted to find out what happened next!

If you’re looking for a good quick read, this is the book for you.

Kim’s Rating

Tune in Tuesday (10)



This meme is hosted by Ginger at GReads & showcases music. Each week you can post an old or new song so that it gains more interest! So head on over and link up.




My pick for this week is Rolling In The Deep by Adele. This is not normally my genre of music, but once I heard it I was hooked. It is so ridiculously catchy and she really does have a fantastic voice!

Rolling In The Deep - Adele


Monday, April 18, 2011

Review - Size 12 is Not Fat by Meg Cabot

Title: Size 12 is Not Fat (Amazon)
Author: Meg Cabot
Publisher: Avon Trade
Release Date: 2006
Pages: 345
Genre: YA
Source: Library

Heather Wells Rocks!

Or, at least, she
did. That was before she left the pop-idol life behind after she gained a dress size or two — and lost a boyfriend, a recording contract, and her life savings (when Mom took the money and ran off to Argentina). Now that the glamour and glory days of endless mall appearances are in the past, Heather's perfectly happy with her new size 12 shape (the average for the American woman!) and her new job as an assistant dorm director at one of New York's top colleges. That is, until the dead body of a female student from Heather's residence hall is discovered at the bottom of an elevator shaft.

The cops and the college president are ready to chalk the death off as an accident, the result of reckless youthful mischief. But Heather
knows teenage girls . . . and girls do not elevator surf. Yet no one wants to listen — not the police, her colleagues, or the P.I. who owns the brownstone where she lives — even when more students start turning up dead in equally ordinary and subtly sinister ways. So Heather makes the decision to take on yet another new career: as spunky girl detective!

But her new job comes with few benefits, no cheering crowds, and
lots of liabilities, some of them potentially fatal. And nothing ticks off a killer more than a portly ex-pop star who's sticking her nose where it doesn't belong . . . (Goodreads)

Kim’s Take: I absolutely loved this book. It was funny with mystery, romance, and danger mixed in. Heather seems to be happy (sort of!) with where she is at in her life right now and where she is going. 

 It seems to be a tragic accident while “elevator surfing” that leads to the death of a female student. But when a second death occurs in the same manner, Heather takes a look into both girl’s student files and is not convinced that such “good girls” would be elevator surfing. She believes there may be foul play involved and begins her investigation.

In the middle of all this chaos, her ex-boyfriend, who cheated on her, is trying to get back into her life for some reason. Heather doubts his intentions, and rightly so. Confusing her even more is her secret crush on his brother, Cooper, a private investigator. She lives upstairs in Cooper’s brownstone, handling paperwork for him in exchange for a place to stay.

Cooper doesn’t seem to believe Heather’s allegations regarding foul play in the deaths of the students since she has no proof. But he begins to change his mind and pay more attention when it seems someone is attempting to “remove” Heather from the investigation. And there’s a nice suspenseful twist at the end.

I really liked Heather’s character. The things that ran through her head were so funny and real and I could really put myself in her situation. I have to admit this is the first Meg Cabot book I have read and I am ashamed. I am now a fan and will be reading ALL of her books!

 Kim’s Rating:
 

Sunday, April 17, 2011

In My Mailbox (12)


In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren that allows to showcase the books that we have received/purchased over the past week.
 
Bought-


A Touch Mortal by Leah Clifford
Born at Midnight by C.C. Hunter

 
For Review-
 
 
Zombies Don't Cry by Rusty Fischer (SO excited about this one!!!)
The Near Witch by Victoria Schwab


Library-
 
 
Major Crush by Jennifer Echols
Nightshade by Andrea Cremer


Gifted-


Ask Amy Green Boy Trouble by Sarah Webb (Thank you Sherry!)
Wake Unto Me by Lisa Cach (Thank you Savannah!)
Forget You by Jennifer Echols (Jacinda you are a LIFESAVER! Thank you so much!)


What did you get this week????

Saturday, April 16, 2011

Meant to Be Giveaway Winner

The Winner of our Meant to Be Giveaway is:
HWest13

The winner has been emailed and has 48 hours to respond until another winner is chosen. Thanks to everyone who entered!

Review - Playing Hurt by Holly Schindler


Title: Playing Hurt
Author: Holly Schindler
Publisher: Flux
Release Date:March 8th, 2011
Pages:312
Genre:YA
Source: Banned Book Tours

Summary via Goodreads:
Star basketball player Chelsea "Nitro" Keyes had the promise of a full ride to college—and everyone's admiration back home. Then she took a horrible fall during senior year. Now a metal plate holds her together and she feels like a stranger in her own family.
That summer, Chelsea's dad hires Clint, a nineteen-year-old ex-hockey player and "boot camp" trainer, to work with her at a northern Minnesota lake resort. As they grow close, Chelsea finds that Clint's haunted by his own tragedy. Will their romance end up hurting them all over again—or finally heal their heartbreak?


Missy's take -

Holy WOW! Saying that I got sucked into this book is an understatement. I read the first couple pages during the read-a-thon. It was my last book of the night and I was ridiculously exhausted so I had to put it down. Had I read just a few more pages in I never would have been able to stop. I picked it back up at work a few days later and finished it during 1 shift. I may just get in trouble for reading at work, but I COULD NOT stop!

After graduating high school Chelsea's dad thinks that a family trip to a lake resort might be good for them. He signs Chelsea up for a "boot camp" hoping that she will get back to being her active self. Clint is the one who is hired on to be her trainer. While trying to maintain a "trainer" relationship with Chelsea things end up taking quite a different turn. He doesn't want to fall for her because he has had heartbreak in the past, but find himself unable to stop. Chelsea on the other hand tries fighting her feelings off because she has a boyfriend at home who is amazingly perfect and has been with her through all of the pain of being unable to play basketball.

Each chapter alternated between Chelsea and Clint. I loved the fact that the story was told from both of their perspectives because it gives you a real feel for each of the characters as a whole. You never have to wonder about how Chelsea feels about Clint and vice versa because it is all laid right out for you in each of their minds. This is one of those novels that you feel like you are actually in. You feel for the characters. You root for them and want to hang out and be friends. Is it possible to fall in love with a book character?? I am sure I fell pretty hard for Clint!

Overall this is an amazing novel. Going into this I had never read anything by Holly Schindler, but I will now be searching out her books. Her writing just flows beautifully and I was never bored. Not once. I read through it like a crazy person! I highly recommend this!


Missy's rating -



Friday, April 15, 2011

Follow Friday (11)


Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee so make sure you head over and link up!

This weeks question is:
Do you have anyone that you can discuss books with IRL? Tell us about him/her.
Luckily, I do. My sister Kim who blogs with me is as big a reader as me. We do have a a lot of similar book tastes, but I prefer YA and she prefers adult fiction. We sort of trade off though and recommend books to each other. My mom is also a big reader. I think that's where I got my love of reading from. She is ALWAYS reading a book. We share a mutual love for Harlan Coben so we talk about his books all the time! 

Thanks for stopping by and we hope you stick around and follow! 

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Review - Glass by Ellen Hopkins

Title: Glass (Amazon)
Author: Ellen Hopkins
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry
Release Date: 2007
Pages: 681
Genre: YA, Adult Fiction
Source: Friend

Summary:
Crank. Glass. Ice. Crystal. Whatever you call it, it's all the same: a monster. And once it's got hold of you, this monster will never let you go.
Kristina thinks she can control it. Now with a baby to care for, she's determined to be the one deciding when and how much, the one calling the shots. But the monster is too strong, and before she knows it, Kristina is back in its grips. She needs the monster to keep going, to face the pressures of day-to-day life. She needs it to feel alive.
Once again the monster takes over Kristina's life and she will do anything for it, including giving up the one person who gives her the unconditional love she craves -- her baby.
The sequel to Crank, this is the continuing story of Kristina and her descent back to hell. Told in verse, it's a harrowing and disturbing look at addiction and the damage that it inflicts. (Goodreads)

Kim’s take -

This book was just as good as the first in the series, Crank. I’ve become familiar with the authors use of verse so it didn’t really bother me at all this time.

The book picks up right where the last one left off. Kristina is battling to keep one step ahead of the desire to use crank after she gives birth to her son. But the drug ultimately turns out to be much more powerful than her will and soon takes over her life again. This book focuses a lot more on the illegal things an addict will do, and the dangerous situations they willingly put themselves into, to get their hands on this destructive drug. And the things they will give up, which is the saddest thing of all. The book portrays how the drug becomes the addict’s sole purpose in life and nothing else matters. Including food, hygiene, sleep, and the world outside.

Once again, this book is loosely based on the author’s daughter’s struggle with the drug. I’ve noticed that the next book in the series is the story of how Kristina’s son is affected by his mother’s drug use and desertion, and how they will affect the life decisions he will make as he gets older.

Kim’s Rating

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (11)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. It lets us spotlight what upcoming books we can't wait for!


The Mephisto Covenant by Trinity Faegen
Publisher: EgmontUSA
Release Date: September 27th, 2011

Summary via Goodreads:

Sasha is desperate to find out who murdered her father. When getting
the answer means pledging her soul to Eryx, she unlocks a secret that
puts her in grave danger—Sasha is Anabo, a daughter of Eve, and
Eryx’s biggest threat.

A son of Hell, immortal, and bound to Earth forever, Jax looks
for redemption in the Mephisto Covenant—God’s promise he will find
peace in the love of an Anabo. After a thousand years, he’s finally
found the girl he’s been searching for: Sasha.

With the threat of Eryx looming, Jax has to keep Sasha safe and
win her over. But can he? Will Sasha love him and give up her mortal
life?

 
How absolutely amazing is that cover? I am a total cover lover and this one completely caught my eye. The story sounds so fascinating! Can't wait for it's release!

What are you waiting on???

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Review - Inevitable by Kate Bennett

Title: Inevitable (Amazon)
Author: Kate Bennett
Publisher:  Amira Rock Publishing
Release Date: January 20th,  2011
Pages: 266
Genre: YA
Source: Review copy from author

Summary via Goodreads:
Carina Lombardi, a vibrant New York University student, can’t shake the feeling that she has known the irresistable- and at times mysteriously intense - Jared Taylor forever. After all, she's had her eye on him for years. Or has it been months?

In a compelling story where time is relative, read how Carina and Jared fall in love, forming a nearly unbreakable bond that will inevitably be challenged over and over again. Will their love prevail or will fate step in the way?



Missy's take - 

I don't think that I can say enough good things about this book!  I could not put it down. I got so sucked into it that I paid no attention to anything going on around me and by the time I finished it it was WAY past my bedtime!

Carina is a senior at NYU working towards her degree in journalism. For the past couple of years she has been swooning over a guy from afar. A guy that is so attractive to her that she is sure she has no chance with him. When he comes into the coffee shop that she works at, and the moment presents itself, she takes a chance at getting to know him. They end up hitting it off right away and, within a few months, he takes her to meet his family. On the way home from the family get together everything gets thrown for a loop!

This story was so full of suspense and romance. So suspenseful, I might add, that I had a hard time not flipping pages ahead just to find out what happened because I could barely wait. I can't say too much about the story without giving away anything, but I will say that where the story went was not at all what I expected. That is a good thing too because if far exceeded my expectations. The twists and turns of the plot were incredible and unexpected. The ending literally took my breath away.

More than anything, to me anyway, this book to me was about love. The things you do, risks you take, the lengths you are willing to go just to be with, and protect, the person that you love. Some people might think that the love Jared had for Carina was kind of crazy and I think it was too, but in a good way.

I can't speak highly enough about this book and I definitely recommend it for anyone looking for suspenseful, romantic YA read! It was truly fantastic!

Kate also has a playlist put together for this book so hop over to her blog and check it out! Inevitable playlist. I love books that have playlists!

Missy's rating 

Tune in Tuesday (9)



This meme is hosted by Ginger at GReads & showcases music. Each week you can post an old or new song so that it gains more interest! So head on over and link up.




I love when I have two artists that I like, they do a song together, and I love them even more. So is the case with my pick this week. I love Jason Aldean and Kelly Clarkson. The fact that they decided to collaborate makes me love them all the more!


Don't You Wanna Stay - Jason Aldean & Kelly Clarkson


Monday, April 11, 2011

Review + Giveaway + Interview- Meant To Be by Tiffany King

Title: Meant to Be (Amazon)
Author: Tiffany King
Publisher: Self-Published
Release Date: March 18th, 2011
Pages:
Genre: YA
Source: ARC from author in exchange for honest review

Summary via Goodreads:

Krista Miller feels like she has lived her entire life in a glass box with her every emotion on display. She can’t help feeling like a defect as her sensitivities have made her socially inept and without any real friends; the one exception being the boy that visits her each night in her dreams.

Krista’s emotions are put to the test when a move to California triggers a devastating change to her fantasy world. The nightly comfort that the boy provides has now become a recurring nightmare as he is taken from her by an unseen force.

Struggling to appear normal, Krista enrolls in a new school and finds it to be nothing like she thought. Her new life is sent spiraling out of control from a strange connection with a boy, Mark, who claims to know all her secrets.

As Krista begins to explore the emotions that Mark evokes in her, secrets from their past about their shared connection threatens to separate them just when they have found each other.


Missy's take -

I met Tiffany through Twitter and became quick friends with her! Heck, she lives in the same town that I grew up in and my brother currently lives. Friendship was a given! Regardless, I found out she was coming out with a book and was anxious to get my hands on it. This was her debut novel and I was very excited to check it out and review it for her. 

Krista is not your average teenage girl. She is exceptionally intelligent and can feel the emotions of those around her. The ability to feel these emotions make everyday life very difficult for her. She is unable to even read a sad story with out the emotion consuming her for days at a time. At times these feelings are so intense they make her become extremely ill. On top of that every night for her whole life she has dreamt of the same boy, on the same beach. She feels so connected to him and has yet to see his face. She feels a strong pull to Santa Cruz and, after her father dies, her mother decides that they will move there to start over after losing him.

Here she finally meets people she can relate to and be friends with. This is something that she has never had the capability of doing. Her life feels like it's making a turn for the better, especially when she finds out that these new friends seem to be able to relate to her more than she could have ever dreamed. These four friends will need each other more than they could ever have imagined.

This is a fantastic debut novel. The story line was amazing and very original. The detail was superb. I was easily able to picture every scene that I was in. I have never read anything quite like it. It was an extremely quick and enjoyable read. I also love that she left it open for a sequel! Yay! I love sequels! I highly recommend that you pick this one up!


Missy's rating-


_________________________________________

About the Author -

Hi, my name is Tiffany King, the author of the Paranormal/Romance YA novel “Meant to Be,” and I’m practically a native Floridian. My family and I have been here for the last fourteen years and have gotten quite used to the mild winters and scorching summers. During the process of writing “Meant to Be,” I discovered just how much I love to write and I have many story ideas tucked away. I’m glad you made it and hope you will follow me and “Meant to Be” as we navigate through the wonderful world of reading. Welcome Aboard.   

 

What inspired you to start writing?
 
My daughter was my biggest inspiration for Meant to Be. I wanted to give her a book that she could lose herself in. I wanted a great love story to share with her. So many books deal with triangle situations that I wanted to give her something different. The triangles always seem a little far-fetched for me. It seems hard to believe every girl has two people fighting for her affection hehe.


Why did you choose the YA genre?
This will probably show my age but I choose YA because I wanted to write a love story that pretty much stayed clean. I wanted a book I could share with my daughter. Of course she is in high school, so she probably sees more each day than I would like. :o)

Meant to Be focuses on a lot on Santa Cruz. Why did you choose Santa Cruz?

Without boring you with details, I had a not so much fun childhood but when I was in 7th grade, I spent 5 of the happiest months of my childhood in Santa Cruz. I always knew that someday, I would pay homage to this wonderful town that changed my life.

How many books do you currently have in the works?

I have one in the works but several on the backburner that wish I would hurry up hehehe :o)

When can we expect a sequel to Meant to Be?
I am working on book two now and hope to have it out by mid- summer. 


Thanks Tiffany for taking the time to answer a few questions for us!! 


______________________________________________


**Now it's time for a fantastic giveaway!**

Thanks to the fabulous Tiffany King we have some awesome swag to giveaway! Included is a fantastic tote bag with the cover image of the book as well as some signed trading cards. We will also be giving away a signed paperback copy of her book Meant to Be! 



Rules to enter:

1. Must be 13 or older
2. US/Canada only (sorry!)
3. Following is NOT required but is always appreciated
4. Only 1 entry per person 
5. Giveaway ends Fri 4/15 11:59 pm
6. To enter fill out the form below