Thursday, March 31, 2011

Review - Spooky Little Girl by Laurie Notaro

Title: Spooky Little Girl (Amazon)
Author: Laurie Notaro
Publisher: Villard Books
Release Date: 2010
Pages: 293
Genre: YA
Source: Library

 Summary:

Coming home from a Hawaiian vacation with her best girlfriends, Lucy Fisher is stunned to find everything she owns tossed out on her front lawn, the locks changed, and her fiancé’s phone disconnected—plus she’s just lost her job. With her world spinning wildly out of her control, Lucy decides to make a new start and moves upstate to live with her sister and nephew.
But then things take an even more dramatic turn: A fatal encounter with public transportation lands Lucy not in the hereafter but in the nearly hereafter. She’s back in school, learning the parameters of spooking and how to become a successful spirit in order to complete a ghostly assignment. If Lucy succeeds, she’s guaranteed a spot in the next level of the afterlife—but until then, she’s stuck as a ghost in the last place she would ever want to be.
Trying to avoid being trapped on earth for all eternity, Lucy crosses the line between life and death and back again when she returns home. Navigating the perilous channels of the paranormal, she’s determined to find out why her life crumbled and why, despite her ghastly death, no one seems to have noticed she’s gone. But urgency on the spectral plane—in the departed person of her feisty grandmother, who is risking both their eternal lives—requires attention, and Lucy realizes that you get only one chance to be spectacular in death. (Goodreads)


Kim’s take:

This was a very fun, lighthearted, and quick read. The story follows Lucy Fisher who experiences nothing but misfortune when she returns from a vacation to Hawaii. She returns home to find all of her belongings on the front lawn except for her beloved dog. Unable to get in contact with her fiancé, Lucy has no choice but to load her things up and stay with a friend. Ultimately, she moves in with her sister in a nearby town. The next day she is killed. But Lucy doesn’t realize she is dead right away. When she wakes up, she finds herself in what appears to be a hospital bed. She soon finds out that she is at a school that teaches the deceased to become ghosts. She must complete a mission as a ghost before she can make her way into “The State” which is heaven. Once she wakes up in the last place she would want to be to complete her mission, Lucy discovers her friends are not even aware that she is dead. The story is very funny. And when she gets stuck babysitting her grandmother’s ghost, it only gets funnier. I really liked the story. The characters were not very deep which wasn’t even necessary for such a short adventure book. Laurie Notaro has several books out and I will be checking those out to see if they are as funny as this one!

Kim’s Rating: 4/5

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (9)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. It lets us spotlight what upcoming books we can't wait for!

 Divergent by Veronica Roth 
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date:  May 3rd, 2011

Summary via Goodreads:
In Beatrice Prior's dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can't have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she's chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she's kept hidden from everyone because she's been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.


I feel like I am the only person who has not read this yet! Seeing all the fantastic reviews by all the other bloggers is making me giddy with excitement over this FINALLY releasing. It seems like I have been waiting forever and that May will never come!


************************************************


The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson 
Publisher: Hyperion
Release Date: September 29th, 2011

Summary via Goodreads:
A modern-day thriller about Rory, an American high-school student who enrolls at a London boarding school for her junior year. Soon after her arrival, a series of murders begins to take place across the city—on the exact dates and in the exact style of Jack the Ripper. Rory’s ties to the killer bring her in contact with a secret paranormal branch of the British police, as they attempt to stop the mysterious killer.


This sounds seriously good. The cover looks so creeptastic! I have very high hopes for this one!
 
What are you waiting on???

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Tune In Tuesday (7)

This meme is hosted by Ginger at GReads & showcases music. Each week you can post an old or new song so that it gains more interest! So head on over and link up.




This is a newer song that I am completely hooked on. I am a big fan of Stone Sour and am so happy that they have new music out!


Stone Sour - Hesitate

Review - 20 Times a Lady by Karyn Bosnak

Title: 20 Times a Lady (Amazon)
Author: Karyn Bosnak
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Release Date: 2006
Pages: 368
Genre: Fiction
Source: Library

How many men does it take to find true love?
Delilah Darling's magic number was supposed to be twenty. She always thought she'd find the perfect guy by the time she'd slept with twenty of them. But when she wakes up naked in her disgusting boss's bed after a drunken night out, she's filled with regret — and realizes she's hit her self-imposed limit. Unwilling to up her number but unable to imagine a life of celibacy, Delilah does what any girl in her situation would do: she tracks down every man she's ever slept with in a last-ditch effort to make it work with one of them.
A hilarious romp through Delilah's past loves, 20 Times a Lady proves that in the end, numbers don't matter. True love will come when you're open and ready to accept it. (Goodreads)

Kim’s take –

This book was absolutely hysterical! Delilah Darling reads an article about the average number of men a woman sleeps with in her lifetime. She is already far over this number at 19 and decides that 20 will be her cut-off point. When Delilah is let go from her job, and waste her number 20 on her revolting ex-boss, she decides to put her severance pay to good use and track down all the men she has slept with. If she finds one of them worthy of a relationship, she can keep her number at 20 without going over her limit and suffering a life of celibacy.

Delilah has some experiences that made me laugh out loud in her travels across the U.S.! From buying an adorable little pup to ending up in a mental hospital, there is not one stop Delilah makes that doesn’t turn into a comedic adventure. It doesn’t help that she has such a delusional naivety. It’s not until she is back home and at her sisters wedding that Delilah discovers everything she ever wanted was right in front of her all along. And to top it off, she finds out that her number was actually one short of what she thought! I would highly recommend this book for anyone looking for a funny, original read. Karyn Bosnak another book that I will be picking up as soon as possible!

Kim’s Rating – 5/5

Monday, March 28, 2011

Review - Crank by Ellen Hopkins

Title: Crank (Amazon)
Author: Ellen Hopkins
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry
Release Date: 2010
Pages: 544
Genre: Y/
Source: Library

Kristina Georgia Snow is the perfect daughter: gifted high school junior, quiet, never any trouble. But on a trip to visit her absentee father, Kristina disappears and Bree takes her place. Bree is the exact opposite of Kristina -- she's fearless.
Through a boy, Bree meets the monster: crank. And what begins as a wild, ecstatic ride turns into a struggle through hell for her mind, her soul -- her life. (Goodreads)



Kim’s take – If you’ve ever read Go Ask Alice, then you’ll really like this book. It sounded really good but when I opened it to read it, I noticed right away that it was written in verse and I didn’t think I would get into it. It quickly became no problem because the story grabbed me right away.

The novel is based mostly on the author’s experiences with her daughter who began the downward spiral into the world of crank while visiting her estranged father. It took just one night for her to become completely hooked.  What was once a perfect, good-girl is switched into a drug seeking addict who does whatever she has to do to get her fix. Crank, and how she is going to score it, becomes her life. Nothing else matters. It is tragic how this girl from a good family, who had so much going for her, descended so quickly and destroyed her future.

She is raped by one of her drug dealers and becomes pregnant. Deciding to keep the baby, she attempts to quit the drug completely. But she often can’t stop herself and uses sometimes. Three months after the baby is born healthy, she cannot resist the pull and lure of the drug and walks out the door. That is how the book ends and will pick up in the sequel, Glass. I can’t wait to read it!

This book was excellent at delving into how easily one can get into a world of drug addiction and the things they will do to obtain their drug of choice. There were absolutely no boring parts which made it even better. It was very easy to identify with her daughter. Though not everything is based on actual events, the author states, very correctly, that any fictional events are entirely possible.

I’d recommend it to anyone. Though it is 544 pages, I read it in an evening since it is written in verse which makes it a quick read. The only reason I give it four stars instead of five, is that the story would have been just as good without being written is verse form which may turn off some readers.

Kim’s Rating – 4/5

Sunday, March 27, 2011

In My Mailbox (9)


In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren that allows to showcase the books that we have received/purchased over the past week.

Bought-


 Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson
An Abundance of Katherines by John Green
Desire's of the Dead by Kimberly Derting
Just Listen by Sarah Dessen



Swoon by Nina Malkin
Peeled by Joan Bauer
Prom by Laurie Halse Anderson
A Countess Below Stairs by Eva Ibbotson
Spring Break by Katherine Applegate
Love & Lies: Marisol's Story by Ellen Wittlinger
Dreamland by Sarah Dessen
That Summer by Sarah Dessen


Library-



 Dash & Lily's Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan
Two Way Street by Lauren Barnholdt


I got a lot of fantastic books this week. Books-A-Million has been having so many good bargain books that I can't resist!

What did you get this week???

Saturday, March 26, 2011

Guest Blogger - Makenna (our 10 yr old niece)

So today we are pleased to pass the reviewing responsibilities over to our awesome 10 year old niece Makenna. She, like us, is an avid reader and shares our love of books.

Here is a little bit about her (in her words of course):

 My name is Makenna. I am 10 years old and in the 4th grade. I love to read. I have 9 chickens, 2 ducks, 2 cats, a rabbit and 2 hamsters. My favorite thing to do is play with my chicken and cat. My chicken is a Bantam. That means she is really small. Her name is Chickmunk. and she's really nice. She likes to stand on my arm. My cat is nice too. She is always following me around. Her name is Princess Kitty or Princess for short. I want a dog too. My favorite 2 dogs are an Alaskan Malamute and a Siberian Husky.

***********************************************

Now on to the review!

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Ugly Truth 
By Jeff Kinney 

Makenna's take-

The Ugly Truth is about a kid named Greg Heffley. In the beginning it's been two weeks since him and his friend Rowley Jefferson had their big fight. School is about to start and he needs a friend. Greg has two choices. Christopher or Tyson, but they both have something wrong with them. Christopher was only a good summer friend because all the mosquitos were attracted and left Greg alone and Tyson had weird bathroom habits.

My favorite part was when their mom is going back to school at night and Greg, his two brothers and his dad are on their own. They tried to make dinner and Manny, Greg's little brother, is in charge of the iced tea and he mixes it with his hands so that it's undrinkable. His older brother Rodrick, that's in high school, makes the roast beef and forgets to take the plastic off. So they bagged the homemade meal and went out to eat. After they left the restaurant Rodrick spits his gum at some moths and hits his dad instead. His dad got mad and started chasing Rodrick all over the parking lot. Dad trips over the curb and twisted his ankle and had to go to the emergency room. He lies to the nurse and says he tripped over one of Manny's cars in the driveway!

There are many other funny parts in this book too like Greg's uncle Gary having his 4th wedding. His first wife Linda married him 2 months after they met and didn't find out what he did for a living until the wedding. When he got there he was still in his dinosaur suit from performing at a kids birthday party. His second wife thought he was rich because of miscommunication on the second date. 
Greg's school year is almost over and by the end of the school year will Greg be friends with Rowley again? To find out you will have to read the book!

I think that this book was really funny and made me laugh a lot. The characters are hilarious.You should read more books about Greg like Rodrick Rules, Dog Day, The Last Straw and more books by Jeff Kinney like Big Nate.


**We want to thank Makenna for writing her awesome review. She was very excited when I told her that there were a bunch of people that wanted to read it! **




Here she is hard at work on her review! :) Please leave her some comments and let her know what you think of her first review!

Friday, March 25, 2011

Blogger Hop & Follow Friday (9)

Book Blogger Hop
Book Blogger Hop is hosted by  Crazy for Books make sure you head over there and link up!

This weeks question is:
If you could physically put yourself into a book or series...which one would it be and why?

I will have to go with one from my childhood. If you had asked me this when I was younger it would have been The Babysitter's Club, hands down. When I was a kid I was always trying to start my own. I wanted to BE Kristy! Well besides the dad drama of course!

**************************************

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee so make sure you head over and link up!

This weeks question is:
Inspired by the inane twitter trend of #100factsaboutme, give us five BOOK RELATED silly facts about you.

1. If I have a book on my Kindle that I absolutely LOVE, I have to buy a physical copy of it too.
2. I am almost always reading at least 2 books at once. One physical copy, one on my Kindle.
3. I am slightly OCD when buying books. I go through each book there to make sure I get the least damaged one. I thoroughly inspect to make sure the one I get is the neatest and prettiest!
4. I totally judge a book by it's cover. If it has a fabulous cover I need to read it!
5. When I was 12-13 I spent a lot of weekends at my Grandma's and lived off of the Harlequin romance books she had. Probably not suitable for my age at the time, but I loved them regardless!

Thanks for stopping by and we hope you stick around and follow! 

Thursday, March 24, 2011

Review - Stolen: A letter to my captor by Lucy Christopher

Title: Stolen: A letter to my captor (Amazon)  
Author: Lucy Christopher
Publisher: Chicken House Ltd
Release Date: 2009
Pages: 301
Genre: YA
Source: Library

Sixteen year old Gemma is kidnapped from Bangkok airport and taken to the Australian Outback. This wild and desolate landscape becomes almost a character in the book, so vividly is it described. Ty, her captor, is no stereotype. He is young, fit and completely gorgeous. This new life in the wilderness has been years in the planning. He loves only her, wants only her. Under the hot glare of the Australian sun, cut off from the world outside, can the force of his love make Gemma love him back? The story takes the form of a letter, written by Gemma to Ty, reflecting on those strange and disturbing months in the outback. Months when the lines between love and obsession, and love and dependency, blur until they don't exist - almost. (Goodreads)

Kim’s take –

I absolutely loved this book! The action starts right away when Gemma runs into Ty at the airport and feels she has seen him somewhere before. And he is gorgeous. Things happen pretty quickly in the airport and when Gemma wakes up, she finds herself in a no man’s land. Desert as far as the eye can see, there is no where to go and no way to get there. Ty has been planning her abduction for years and has built and stocked up on everything they may need for years. His plan is to keep Gemma there with him forever.   

Gemma, understandably, hates Ty. When she tries to escape and nearly dies, it is Ty who rescues her and nurses her back to health. You can’t help but love Ty. His character is so gorgeous and the love he has for Gemma makes him seem so sweet that you feel sorry for him even though he has kidnapped her. I found myself wanting her to fall in love with him too. And she slowly is. Until a tragic accident forces Ty to return her to civilization to save her life. He then turns himself in when he feels she is safe and in capable hands.

Gemma must now try to separate fact from fiction. Does her family really love her or are the things Ty has told her true? I felt as bad for her during this time as I did in the beginning when she was kidnapped. How will she feel when she faces Ty in a courtroom?

I loved the author’s writing style and she was very descriptive without it being too much. It was enough that I could imagine the scenes as if I were watching a movie. She makes you feel very connected to both Ty and Gemma. Of course, I wish the ending would have been different because, by that time, I was totally in love with Ty!

I couldn’t give this book any higher of a recommendation!

Kim's Rating - 5/5

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (8)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. It lets us spotlight what upcoming books we can't wait for!


Shut Out by Kody Keplinger
Publisher: Poppy
Release Date: September 5th, 2011

Summary via author's website:
SHUT OUT is a story about Lissa, a senior in high school, who decides to put an end to a decade old rivalry between her school's football and soccer teams after her quarterback boyfriend ditches her a few too many times on behalf of hazing the other team. Her plan is to start a sex strike - gathering the girlfriends of all the players of both teams and agreeing that none of them will hookup with their boyfriends until the rivalry is over. What follows is an all out battle of the sexes as the girls begin to explore issues of teen sexuality and the boys attempt to seducethe girls into breaking their oath. Lissa is determined to win, but she never expects the sexual tension that rises between she and Cash Sterling, a member of the soccer team and leader of the boys' side.

Okay, so I realize that this one has been posted quite a bit over the past few weeks. I hadn't read The DUFF when all the excited hype came out about this one. Now I have read The DUFF thanks to Ginger at GReads and I can totally see why everyone is so excited.  The DUFF was awesome and I can't imagine this one will be any different!


*********************************************


Shattered Souls by Mary Lindsey 
Publisher: Penguin
Release Date: December 18th, 2011

Summary via Goodreads:
Lenzi hears voices. She also sees visions--gravestones, floods, a gorgeous guy with steel gray eyes. She knows she must be going crazy, just like her dad did. Her boyfriend, Zak, can't do anything to help, and the voices just keep getting louder, the visions more intense. But when Lenzi meets Alden, the boy from her dreams, everything makes sense.

Sort of.

He tells Lenzi that she's a reincarnated Speaker--someone who can talk to lost souls and help them move on--and that he has been her Protector for centuries. But instead of embracing her abilities, Lenzi struggles between her life as the girlfriend of a sexy musician and the life she is destined to lead with Alden. Yet time is running out; a malevolent spirit has been trying to destroy Lenzi for ages, and he will surely kill her if she doesn't make a decision soon.

Her choices are clear: Destiny or normalcy. Alden or Zak. Life or death.


So this sounds right up my alley. I can't believe it doesn't come out until December though! Seriously?!?! I am terrible at waiting and this is one of the longest I have to wait for. How amazing is the cover? I absolutely love it!

What are you waiting on???

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Review - The Opposite of Me by Sarah Pekkanen

Title: The Opposite of Me (Amazon)
Author: Sarah Pekkanen
Publisher: Washington Square Press
Release Date: 2010
Pages: 377
Genre: Fiction
Source: Library

Lindsey Rose has always lived in the shadow of her devastatingly beautiful twin sister, Alex. Determined to get noticed, Lindsey has put in years of 80-hour weeks and at twenty-nine is about to be named Creative Vice President of an elite New York advertising agency. Fate, however, has other plans and in one awful night, Lindsey's carefully constructed life implodes.

Humiliated and desperate, Lindsey flees the glitter of Manhattan and retreats to the time warp of her parents' Maryland home. Struggling to maintain her identity as the smart, responsible sister, she finds herself taking a job in a dating service - and having the time of her life. She is even beginning to have a real sisterly relationship with Alex ... until they both fall in love with the same guy. Then a long-held family secret is unleashed, flipping Lindsey into the one spot she never dreamed she'd land.

The Opposite of Me is a smart, funny and poignant novel about the desire to have it all, the relationships that define us and the complicated, irreplaceable bonds of sisterhood
. (Goodreads)

Kim’s take –

I really liked this book about how changes we can’t control in our lives may seem devastating but could lead to more that you could dream of. It’s also a great story of the often challenging relationships between sisters.

Lindsey and Alex are fraternal twins. Alex got all the looks and was the center of attention everywhere she went. Lindsey got the brains and has always felt non-existent in the presence of her sister. When Lindsey’s well laid plans for her career turn disastrous in one evening, she can’t stand the thought of the embarrassment of staying in Manhattan and moves into her parent’s home. Not wanting to disappoint her parents with her job loss, she tells them that she is in the area to scout a new location for her firm.

Cynical about her sister’s television program, modeling, and upcoming wedding, Lindsey is unable to change the animosity she feels for her twin. And it only grows when Alex seems to be spending more and more time with Bradley, Lindsey’s best friend growing up and the man she is pinning her romantic hopes on.  

On the evening Lindsey is trying to show Bradley she wants to be more than friends and is rejected, the true nature of the relationship between Alex and Bradley becomes crystal clear after Alex is involved in an accident.

But Lindsey’s feelings for Alex soon begin to change when Alex goes through some life changing medical procedures to save her life. Lindsey begins to realize how they are more alike than she realized and that Alex’s picture-perfect life is not as easy or happy as it appears. After finding a document in the attic, the information learned, leaves both of them questioning the beliefs in the identities they have held their entire lives and may lead them to the happiness they have both been searching for.

This was a great book with characters you could relate to. There were so many characters in the book that I was rooting for. And they were mainly people looking for love through a different kind of dating service, Blind Date. Their descriptions just made you want them to find love and be happy. 

I would have preferred to have a few more pages at the end to see what happened more on Lindsey's side of the story. But I guess you have to base your assumptions on the last few pages. Which isn't a bad thing but it left me wanting more!

I have two other books from Sara Pekkanen and can’t wait to read them!

Kim’s Rating – 4/5

Wither Giveaway Winner!!


The winner of our Wither giveaway is

Congrats! You have been emailed and will have 48 hrs to respond! 
Thanks to everyone who entered! :)

Tune In Tuesday (6)














This meme is hosted by Ginger at GReads & showcases music. Each week you can post an old or new song so that it gains more interest! So head on over and link up.


This week I am yet again back in my high school days. I spent my days generally flipping between this band and Stabbing Westward. I still listen to them quite frequently. They never got as popular as I wish they would have because I think all their music is great.


Caroline's Spine - Sullivan


Monday, March 21, 2011

Lemniscate Chapter One Reveal


Today is the day! The release day of Lemniscate by Jennifer Murgia!
Thanks to Jennifer we get to give you a sneak peek with the first chapter!

Also, as a reminder, Jennifer is doing a fantastic giveaway. All you have to do is comment on this post to be entered. She will be selecting winners via the comments on Tuesday and announcing a winner on Wednesday 3/23. Here is what you could win!


An signed copy of both Angel Star & Lemniscate

and


 This double winged necklace!

So make sure you head over to this post and leave your comment to enter!


Now on to that first chapter -

Enjoy!


Chapter One
It had been raining for three days straight. I rolled onto my side to face the window towards the bit of light glowing behind the thin skin of my eyelids and grew excited for a moment, thinking today the sun might finally make an appearance. I should have known better. Under normal circumstances I would have been more than happy to cinch my covers in closer, keeping the warmth in as long as possible, thawing my flannel-wrapped arm after mercilessly sending it out into the open to slam the snooze button. But not today.
I opened my eyes to Garreth standing at the glass, his skin reflecting back a pale glimmer against the dry side of the window. My warm light on the bleakest of Monday mornings was tracing the crooked lines of water with his finger, seemingly deep in thought.
“Writing love notes to me on my window?” I mused out loud, stretching my cramped legs toward the bottom of my quilted bed. I propped myself up onto my elbow as he turned around, his striking blue eyes reminded me of his perfection.
Each day I’m astounded to find him here with me.
My angel. My guardian. My boyfriend.
Garreth has been earthbound for months now, choosing to live the life of a mortal just so he can spend each and every waking moment with me. It’s not that he’s giving up an extraordinary existence, he’s just trading part of one for another. He’s still my guardian, still here to protect me. True, there isn’t anything human about him besides the charade he plays for others, and his looks, which, now that I think about it, aren’t quite human either. I remember the irregular heartbeats I felt the first time we met at school last spring. The way I would feel all weak and fluttery. Words can’t describe what he means to me. My mother would call it unhealthy and irrational if she ever learned the true depth of my emotions. Anyone would.
Garreth’s aura isn’t like the average guy running around my school or at the mall. He’s pure. Surreal. And his heart beats only for me. I should feel important and flattered, I know. But honestly, it makes me uncomfortable. Why anyone would give up the freedom of roaming the heavens to be stranded here is beyond me.
Especially for me.
“You’re awake,” he said, walking slowly to my bedside. Sitting down and looking deeply into my eyes, Garreth bent to kiss me good morning. His hand rested gently on my cheek, allowing me to feel the exceptional warmth of his skin, his soft touch nearly lulling me back to sleep.
“Oh, no you don’t. It’s time for you to get up.”
“Please tell me it’s Saturday,” I murmured, forcing my face into my pillow.
“Unfortunately, it’s Monday and unfortunately again, we have a calculus test today.” Garreth nudged my ribs and I couldn’t help giggling.
“Ok, ok! I’m up!” I smiled into his chiseled face. He looked as handsome as always. His sandy hair, tousled as usual, hung seductively over his brilliant blue eyes. My eyes traced the strong bridge of his nose, which led to his perfect lips, and I let my eyes rest there for a few minutes. Picking up on my thoughts, he bent lower. I could smell the warmth of his skin, fragrant and spicy, as if he’d just showered with an amazing fragrance not yet discovered and bottled. It was his scent, an incense of sorts that belonged only to him and gently surrounded him like his aura. It made me dizzy, but I loved it. I closed my eyes as his lips rested softly on mine and my arms wove up and around his neck to keep him longer.
“Test? Remember?” He grasped my hands, still clasped behind his neck, and uncurled my fingers with a gentle strength, bringing them to rest at my sides. “Later . . . later you can kiss me and not let go,” he whispered softly into my hair and then stood up.
“Of course you’ll ace this test. You have infinite knowledge.” I was being sarcastically playful, and Garreth rolled his eyes.
“I’ll make sure I get a few wrong.”
“Gee, thanks,” I responded.
I could hear my mother stirring down the hall. Within minutes she’d be padding softly in this direction to her shower and stop at my door along the way, urging me to wake up. She’s not aware that I’m usually up by this point, nor is she aware that Garreth is the one to wake me before she ever gets the chance to.
A dresser drawer scraped shut, usually Garreth’s clue for a silent, celestial exit, knowing twenty minutes from now he’d be knocking on the kitchen door to take me to school. I kissed him goodbye with one last chance to see the blue of his eyes sparkle like diamonds. Like clockwork, my mother’s knuckles rapped at my door.
Only twenty minutes longer.
That’s all I have to wait.
Twenty minutes.

****************************************************



Sunday, March 20, 2011

In My Mailbox (8)

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren that allows to showcase the books that we have received/purchased over the past week.

Bought-


The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa 
Dark Mirror by M.J. Putney
Jonas: Beautiful Dead by Eden Maguire
Clarity by Kim Harrington
(I actually got Clarity when it came out, but forgot to put it the right IMM post!)

Library-


The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff
The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

Borrowed-


A Need So Beautiful by Suzanne Young (Thanks Sherry!)


I already finished Clarity so keep an eye out for that review. I am also in the process of reading The DUFF, which is fantastic!

What did you get this week???



 

Saturday, March 19, 2011

Review - The Ghost and The Goth by Stacey Kade

Title: The Ghost and The Goth
Author: Stacey Kade
Publisher: Hyperion
Release Date: June 29th, 2010
Pages: 281
Genre: YA
Source: Library 

Summary via Goodreads -

Alona Dare–Senior in high school, co-captain of the cheerleading squad, Homecoming Queen three years in a row, voted most likely to marry a movie star… and newly dead.

I’m the girl you hated in high school. Is it my fault I was born with it all-good looks, silky blond hair, a hot bod, and a keen sense of what everyone else should not be wearing? But my life isn’t perfect, especially since I died. Run over by a bus of band geeks—is there anything more humiliating? As it turns out, yes—watching your boyfriend and friends move on with life, only days after your funeral. And you wouldn’t believe what they’re saying about me now that they think I can’t hear them. To top it off, I’m starting to disappear, flickering in and out of existence. I don’t know where I go when I’m gone, but it’s not good. Where is that freaking white light already?

Will Killian–Senior in high school, outcast, dubbed “Will Kill” by the popular crowd for the unearthly aura around him, voted most likely to rob a bank…and a ghost-talker.

I can see, hear, and touch the dead. Unfortunately, they can also see, hear and touch me. Yeah, because surviving high school isn’t hard enough already. I’ve done my best to hide my “gift.” After all, my dad, who shared my ability, killed himself because of it when I was fifteen. But lately, pretending to be normal has gotten a lot harder. A new ghost—an anonymous, seething cloud of negative energy with the capacity to throw me around—is pursuing me with a vengeance. My mom, who knows nothing about what I can do, is worrying about the increase in odd incidents, my shrink is tossing around terms like “temporary confinement for psychiatric evaluation,” and my principal, who thinks I’m a disruption and a faker, is searching for every way possible to get rid of me. How many weeks until graduation?
 


Missy's take -

The story is based around Alona, the most popular girl in school. One morning, while skipping class, she makes the mistake of stepping off a curb and right into the path of a bus full of band kids. She ends up dying and over the course of a few days keeps waking up in the same spot she dies. She is completely unsure of why she is still roaming around and finally realizes that the school goth kid, Will, is the only one that can see her. Even though when she was living she would have avoided him at all cost, she tries to talk him into helping her go to the other side or at least find out why she hasn't.

I loved the characters in this book. They were funny, witty and charming. They also each had a deeper side to them. Alona and Will were complete opposites and I think that's what made the story work so well. Two people, from two different social circles, having to work together. Will has been tormented most of his life with dealing with hearing and seeing dead people. This is something he tries to hide from everyone, including his mother. His father also had the same ability. Will also tries to hide this from the ghosts because if they found out he could hear them they would all want him to do things for them. Alona has always been perceived as the perfect popular girl with the perfect life. Things couldn't be more untrue, but she chooses to hide this from everyone. She would rather everyone see her as the girl who has it all. They argued and tested each other at every turn and I loved it!  Of course it also helped that there was a touch of romance!

It was such a fun read and perfectly paced. I wasn't bored even for a moment! It was so cute and unique. I love books that make me laugh and this one did just that. This was definitely not the typical ghost stories I usually read and I wouldn't have wanted it any other way!

Missy's rating - 4/5

Friday, March 18, 2011

TGIF (1)




TGIF is hosted by Ginger over at GReads! Head on over and link up!

*****************************

This Friday's Question:

Cover Lust: 
which book covers are you lusting after right now?

This is something that I am extremely guilty of. There are tons of covers that I lust over. Since it would take a million posts to show ALL the covers I lust, I will show you a couple upcoming ones that I can't stop staring at!


Anna Dressed In Blood - I have been obsessing over this cover since I have seen it. I even professed my love for it on Twitter. Does this make me totally crazy?? Probably, but oh well! I don't know if it's just the creepy aspect of it or what, but I am seriously in LOVE with it!







Tris & Izzie -How amazing is this cover??? The second I saw it I was completely smitten with it. The picture, the font, just everything. It all works together so well. The scene is just SO beautiful!









Both of these books have been featured on our Waiting on Wednesday posts. Not only are the covers awesome, but the stories sound like they will be amazing as well.

What covers are you currently lusting over??


Blogger Hop & Follow Friday (8)

Book Blogger Hop
Book Blogger Hop is hosted by  Crazy for Books make sure you head over there and link up!

This weeks question is:
Do you read only one book at a time, or do you have several going at once?

I used to only ever read one book at a time. Now that I have my Kindle I normally have one going on that and one physical book too. Sometimes if I get a little bored with a book I will start a 3rd one too. My family thinks I am crazy!


**************************************

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee so make sure you head over and link up!

This weeks question is:
How did you come up with your blog name?

It took Kim and I forever to come up with a name. I can't say that we are 100% happy with it. We wanted something with the word two in it so people would realize there were two of us. Unfortunately neither of us is very creative so this is the best that we could come up with at the time! I think about changing it all the time, but am still clueless as to what else it could possibly be!

Thanks for stopping by and we hope you stick around and follow! 

Thursday, March 17, 2011

Review - Anna and The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Title:  Anna and the French Kiss
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Publisher: Dutton
Release Date: December 2nd, 2010
Pages: 372
Genre: YA
Source: Library

Summary via Goodreads:

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris—until she meets Étienne St. Claire: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he's taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home.

As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near-misses end with the French kiss Anna—and readers—have long awaited?


Missy's take -
 
I don't think there are words to express my love for this novel. It was seriously that good. I can't believe that I waited so long to finally read it. I was a little worried I would be disappointed because it has been so hyped up and I am glad to say that I most definitely was not. This is one of those books that I will be pushing everyone that I know to read.

I adored Anna and St. Clair. They were one of my favorite duos ever. They fit so perfectly together. I also loved all of the supporting characters because well, without them, this story would not have been what it was. Teenage love in the city of romance. Yes, please! I virtually read this in one sitting because I did not want to put it down. Time flew by and I didn't even notice.

Even after I finished this I couldn't stop smiling. It was such a feel good book!  It was so easy to connect with Anna. She handled certain situations in the same way that I could see myself doing. She was incredibly realistic! She could easily be someone who is a friend of mine. I swear that I could actually feel what Anna felt. I wanted to laugh when she laughed and cry when she cried. She was such an extremely likeable character!

I can't wait to see what else Stephanie Perkins has in store for us in the future!


Missy's rating - 5/5

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday (7)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine. It lets us spotlight what upcoming books we can't wait for!


 Memento Nora by Angie Smibert
Publisher: Marshall Cavendish Children's Books 
Release Date: April 1st, 2011

Summary via mementonora.com:

Nora, the popular girl and happy consumer, witnesses a horrific bombing on a shopping trip with her mother. In Nora’s near-future world, terrorism is so commonplace that she can pop one little white pill to forget and go on like nothing ever happened. However, when Nora makes her first trip to a Therapeutic Forgetting Clinic, she learns what her mother, a frequent forgetter, has been frequently forgetting. Nora secretly spits out the pill and holds on to her memories. The memory of the bombing as well as her mother’s secret and her budding awareness of the world outside her little clique make it increasingly difficult for Nora to cope. She turns to two new friends, each with their own reasons to remember, and together they share their experiences with their classmates through an underground comic. They soon learn, though, they can’t get away with remembering.

I have a serious obsession with dystopian novels lately. I love the build up of a new time and place and what the world could be like. LOVE. IT.


What are you waiting on??? 

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Tune In Tuesday














This meme is hosted by Ginger at GReads & showcases music. Each week you can post an old or new song so that it gains more interest! So head on over and link up.

I have crazy love for this band. They are probably one of my favorite bands of all time. It was really hard to pick just one song to post because I love so so many of them. How can anyone not love Papa Roach and their crazy frontman Jacoby Shaddix? I love him and his crazy hair, amazing voice and his guy liner! :)


Papa Roach - Scars


Giveaway Carnival!


In honor of Shanyn over at Chick Loves Lit's 2 year blogoversary she is hosting an awesome blogoversary giveaway carnival. This is our first giveaway here at Two Readers Reviews and we are super excited about it. If you want to check out all the other giveaways happening in this carnival head over to Chick Loves Lit for all the links!

Here is what we are giving away:


Wither by Lauren DeStefano!

Here is a summary if you haven't read it yet:

What if you knew exactly when you would die?

Thanks to modern science, every human being has become a ticking genetic time bomb—males only live to age twenty-five, and females only live to age twenty. In this bleak landscape, young girls are kidnapped and forced into polygamous marriages to keep the population from dying out.

When sixteen-year-old Rhine Ellery is taken by the Gatherers to become a bride, she enters a world of wealth and privilege. Despite her husband Linden's genuine love for her, and a tenuous trust among her sister wives, Rhine has one purpose: to escape—to find her twin brother and go home.

But Rhine has more to contend with than losing her freedom. Linden's eccentric father is bent on finding an antidote to the genetic virus that is getting closer to taking his son, even if it means collecting corpses in order to test his experiments. With the help of Gabriel, a servant Rhine is growing dangerously attracted to, Rhine attempts to break free, in the limted time she has left.


I seriously love this book and I want to spread that love! It is one of my favorite reads this year!

Entry Rules:

1. Open from 3/15/11-3/22/11 (8am EST)
2. You must be 13 or older
3. US only
4. You are not required to follow, but it is appreciated :)
5. To enter you must fill out the form HERE


Monday, March 14, 2011

Lemniscate Quote Hop!


Today we are honored to be participating in the the Quote Hop for Leminiscate, the follow up to Angel Star, by Jennifer Murgia. If you haven't had a chance to read Angel Star yet then I suggest that you do!

***********************

Lemniscate by Jennifer Murgia 
Publisher: Lands Atlantic Publishing, LLC
Release Date: March 21st, 2011

Summary via Amazon:
For Teagan, these last few months have been heaven on earth- especially now that Garreth, her boyfriend and guardian angel, is earthbound. But perhaps Garreth is becoming a little more human than either of them expected.
Now, Teagan must realize that her world is once again about to shift, as she questions the faith she held in others against those once considered enemies.
In this continuation of Angel Star, Lemniscate will draw you even deeper into the world of dark and light as Teagan realizes the angel who could possibly save them all is the one angel she feared the most.




Here is our quote for Lemniscate-

"I thought of Garreth. No things weren't normal. Things sucked."

Want to read more? Go to Books to Brighten Your Mood tomorrow for the next quote!

If you want to check out any of the other quotes be sure to head over to Jennifer's personal blog HERE and she will have a list of all of the blogs participating just in case you missed a quote!


GIVEAWAY!
Jennifer is also putting on a fantastic giveaway that includes signed copies of both Angel Star and Lemniscate. To be entered into the giveaway all you have to do is leave a comment on this post and your name will be entered into the drawing to win. Also make sure that you leave a way to reach you if you are the winner! She will be picking the winner the week of 3/21.


You can also check out the book trailer for Lemniscate below-

Sunday, March 13, 2011

In My Mailbox (7)

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by Kristi over at The Story Siren that allows to showcase the books that we have received/purchased over the past week.

Here is what Missy got this week -

Library-


Firelight by Sophie Jordan
The Ghost & the Goth by Stacey Kade
Anna & the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
(I did get this once before, but didn't read it! I am terrible!)

Bought-


The Fallen 1 by Thomas E. Sniegoski
The Fallen 2 by Thomas E. Sniegoski
This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen
Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen
Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen
Ink Exchange by Melissa Marr
City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare
The Secret Life of Prince Charming by Deb Caletti
Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen
The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

I did buy quite a few books this week, but I got amazing deals through Books A Million so I didn't spend too much!

Won/Gifted-


The Fallen: Raziel bu yristina Douglas (via Goodreads giveaway)
Not That Kind of Girl by Siobhan Vivian (Thanks Heidi @ YA Bibliophile!)

Another amazing week full of awesome books to read!

So what did you get???

Saturday, March 12, 2011

Review - The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

Title: The Forest of Hands and Teeth (Amazon)
Author:  Carrie Ryan
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Release Date: February 9th, 2010
Pages: 308
Genre: YA
Source: I own a copy

Summary via Goodreads:

In Mary's world there are simple truths. The Sisterhood always knows best. The Guardians will protect and serve. The Unconsecrated will never relent. And you must always mind the fence that surrounds the village; the fence that protects the village from the Forest of Hands and Teeth. But, slowly, Mary’s truths are failing her. She’s learning things she never wanted to know about the Sisterhood and its secrets, and the Guardians and their power, and about the Unconsecrated and their relentlessness. When the fence is breached and her world is thrown into chaos, she must choose between her village and her future—between the one she loves and the one who loves her. And she must face the truth about the Forest of Hands and Teeth. Could there be life outside a world surrounded in so much death?


Missy's take - 

This book reminded me a lot of the movie The Village, which I really enjoyed. It was the first thing that came to mind a few chapters in. The main difference being this was based on zombies filling the forests and not some other monster.

The story itself was rather depressing, but very well written. Mary, the lead character, is always filled with so much hope. Here she is trapped inside a fenced village keeping the Unconsecrated out and keeping her trapped inside, but she holds out hope for all that is beyond the forest. Hope for goods things to happen in her life and for there to be some sort of world outside this village that she is stuck in. Also to find the ocean that her mother was always telling her about. As much as Mary annoyed me at times, I really felt for her character. She had so much pain inside her. It was hard not to hope that things worked out for her.

As weird as this may sound, what I loved the most about the book was also part of what I didn't like. There was an unbelievable amount of description. I loved it because I actually felt as though I could visualize everything around them, at times though the details were just a little too much. I am not sure if that makes sense or not!

I was a little disappointed with the ending, but perhaps it was because it seemed so abrupt. It sort of just ended. It kind of felt like there was more to tell and many questions left unanswered. I know there is a sequel though so hopefully I get some of my questions answered in that one!

Overall I would say it was a pretty good read. Although I had some issues with it they were just minors ones that I could overlook. I think anyone that has an interest in zombie books would really like this one.

Missy's rating - 4/5

Friday, March 11, 2011

Blogger Hop & Follow Friday (7)

Book Blogger Hop
Book Blogger Hop is hosted by  Crazy for Books make sure you head over there and link up!


This weeks question is:
If I gave you £50 (or $80) and sent you into a bookshop right now, what would be in your basket when you finally staggered to the till?

This is a tough question because I have quite the wish list of books. Here are some of the ones that I can think of off the top of my head.

Anna & The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Matched by Allie Condie
Personal Demons by Lisa Deroschers
The Lost Saint by Bree Despain
The Duff by Kody Keplinger
Vesper by Jeff Sampson

I would imagine those would equal somewhere around $80! I always end up spending more then what I plan on anyway!

**************************************

Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee so make sure you head over and link up!

This weeks question is:
Who are You the Boy/Girl, instead of You the Blogger?

I am Missy! :) I am actually pretty boring. When I"m not reading I am usually watching one of the million TV shows that I am obsessed with! I am going to be 30 this year (yikes!). I have a really large family. I have 3 brothers and 3 sisters (including Kim who blogs here with me). I also have a whole slew of nieces and nephews that I absolutely adore! 

Thanks for stopping by and we hope you stick around and follow!